Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database that includes the full text of many, but not all, articles. Some full-text titles have publishers' embargoes which prevent the most current content from being displayed.
Accessible Archives
Includes eyewitness accounts of American historical events, descriptions of daily life, observations, and commerce as seen through advertisements and genealogical records from early American newspapers and other sources, including a collection of 19th-century African American newspapers.
AfricaBib.org (Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database)
Includes indexing of 521 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent; searchable by regions of Africa.
Africa Development Indicators
Includes data on social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
African Newspapers, 1800-1922
More than 40 19th- and 20th-century newspapers titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
Aluka
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. It includes a wide variety of scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.
America: History and Life
Article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the history of the United States and Canada.
Black Freedom Struggle
Primary source materials from organizations, including SCLC, ACOA, and Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and personal papers, including Claude Barnett and Bayard Rustin.
Black Literature Index
Fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, historical documents, Black Abolitionist Papers, dissertations, video, and an index to the Schomberg collections.
Current Bibliography on African Affairs
Available in print only
Ethnic Newswatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
Historical Abstracts
World History from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Indexes about 2,100 journals.
Index to Black Periodicals
Available in print only
International Index to Black Periodicals
Current and retrospective index of scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, with full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals; also includes the Marshall Index (1940-1946)
Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes: Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Second Edition; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (and forthcoming companion volume, 1896-present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; African American National Biography; other Oxford reference sources, primary sources, images, maps, charts, and tables.
African American Song
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. Incorporated into the American Song database.
To search only the African American Song database, in the search box click on "African American Music" under Genre, then enter search in "Search text within results" .
Europa World Plus
Economic, political and geographic background information along with statistical data, by country.
Global Development Finance
provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
Indexes and databases may contain links to the full-text of an article or just a citation or bibiliographic information. If there is only citation, full-text of the article may be available at Bowdoin in one of our other databases, it may be available in print at Bowdoin, or it may be available at another library through ILL.
To locate the full-text of an article at Bowdoin:
To order an article from another library:
