EndNote offers over 7000 styles. Because installing all of these styles can slow performance, a typical EndNote installation includes only the 500 most popular styles. You can install sets of styles by discipline with the EndNote installer, or you can download individual styles from the EndNote website.
To download individual output styles:
- Go to https://endnote.com/downloads/styles/ OR from the Tools menu in EndNote, choose "Output Styles" and then "Open Style Manager". Click "Get More on the Web" to start your default browser.
- Search by style name, and download the file(s) you want to install.
- Double-click the style file. It should open in EndNote.
- On the open style, go to “File Menu” and choose “Save As”. ...
- Click on “File Menu” and choose “Close Style”
- Then Go back to your EndNote Library and go to "select another style".
The styles will now be available in EndNote to select for formatting.
To create a bibliography that includes abstracts, you can use the Annotated style included with EndNote. The Annotated style is based on the Author-Date style, and creates an alphabetical listing of the references (by author), with the abstract appended to each reference. You can modify any other style to include the Notes or Abstract field as well.
For this example, we modify the Numbered style to include the Abstract field.
- From the Edit menu, choose Output Styles and select Open Style Manager.
- Choose a style from the list in the Style Manager window, and click the Edit button. The Style window opens.
- Choose Layout from the options under the Bibliography heading and click in the text box under the "End each reference with" heading. Text or fields inserted into this section appear at the end of each reference in the bibliography.
- To insert the abstracts on a new line after each reference: choose ¶ End of Paragraph from the Insert Field list, and then choose Abstract from the same list.
- From the File menu, choose Save As and give the style a new name, but keep the ".ENS" extension.
This annotated version of the style will appear in the Output Styles submenu of the Edit menu (and in the styles menu on the Main toolbar). If you format a paper, print, or export references using this style, the abstracts are included in the bibliography.
This information provided from the EndNote Help feature from within EndNote.
The "Bibliography Sort Order" section determines how the bibliography should be sorted. Common options are listed, and you may also configure a custom sort order.
- Order of Appearance
References are listed in the order in which they are cited in the paper.- Author + Title
References are sorted by the Author field. References with identical authors are sorted by title.- Author + Year + Title
References are sorted by the Author field, then references with identical authors are sorted by year. References with identical authors and years are then sorted by title.- First Author + Year + Other Authors
References are sorted by just the first author, then references with identical primary authors are sorted by year. References with identical primary authors and years are then sorted based on the other authors in the reference.- First Author + # of Authors + Year
References are sorted by just the first author, then by the number of authors in the reference. For references with the same primary author and the same number of authors, they are then sorted chronologically based on the Year field.- Other
A custom sort order is applied to the references in the bibliography.- Sort Edited Works After Original Works By Same Author
Some styles request that if the same person is the author for a book and the editor for an edited book, the original works by that author are sorted first, and then the edited works follow. This is an exception to the sorting rules that can be applied to the other sort options providedNote: When sorting by Author field, EndNote sorts based on all information in the Author field, including all author names (not just the first author) and initials.
Custom Sorting
To sort references or multiple citations differently from the options in the "Citation Sort Order" or "Bibliography Sort Order" sections, select the option for Other and choose from the lists any combination of up to five fields in ascending or descending order.
This window is identical to the one that appears when you choose Sort References from the References menu. You do not need to use all five options. The button at the right of each box controls the direction of the sort, either ascending or descending order. Clicking these boxes toggles the sort order between ascending and descending order.
Once you have set up your sorting strategy, click OK to return to the main Sort Order panel for the style. The Other button will now display your custom sorting instructions.
This information provided from the EndNote Help feature from within EndNote.
Set up your EndNote account and fully sync your library before you share.
If you've already set up your account and synced your library:
How do I join a Library that has been shared with me?
