Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary index of journals, newspapers, and magazines; choose: Publication Type: "Entertainment Review" to narrow search to reviews.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries through to 2000. To find reviews enter your search term choose "Review" under "Document Type."
Music Periodicals Index
An index of popular and scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers; to find reviews, add "review*" to search terms. (ex.: "John Coltrane" review*)
Music Index
An index of international music research journals, magazines and newspapers; choose Document Type: "Entertainment Review" to narrow search to reviews. Includes reviews back to 1973; before 1973 use Music Index in print in H-L reference collection.
Rock's Back Pages
Articles on rock music and culture from the major rock music magazines published in the USA and the UK since the early 1970s; includes interviews and reviews of jazz artists; choose "artists" or "subject" jazz in drop down boxes or use "advanced search"
Readers Guide Retrospective
A multi-disciplinary index of popular and scholarly journal covering resources published between 1890 and 1982.
Newspapers
Newspapers are a wonderful source for reviews of materials by respected music critics.
Proquest Newspapers
Includes 500 US and international news sources, includes current and past issues of the New York Times, Boston Globe, Wall Street Journal and the Times (London).
LexisNexis-Academic
Worldwide newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Ethnic Newswatch
Index of newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
Blackgrooves
A monthly review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music and Culture at Indiana University.
Billboard
Review finder searches for reviews published 1950s-current; click on "Reviews."
Billboard (Google books)
Google books has digitized Billboard magazine issues back to 1942; in the search box enter: Billboard [artist, album, and/or year]
Downbeat
Online version includes reviews from the past 10 months; available in print from 1937-current in the Music and H-L libraries
Other Websites
RoJaRo
An index to reviews published in magazines from 1992-present. Full text is not available, but may be found by searching for the title of the magazine at Bowdoin or by requesting the article through ILL.
RIAA-Gold & Platinum
A searchable database of the Recording Industry Association of American Gold & Platinum award winners from 1958-present.
All Music Guide: Pop/Rock
For recording reviews, search for artist, click on "Discography," then title of album.
All Music Guide: Rap
For recording reviews, search for artist, click on "Discography," then title of album.
