Bowdoin's 1619 Project Event Series: 1. One Nation?

• Eighty-eight years: the long death of slavery in the United States, 1777-1865, by Patrick Rael, Bowdoin College (available at Bowdoin and Colby)
• The Burden: African Americans and the Enduring Impact of Slavery, edited by Rochelle Riley, forward by Nikole Hannah-Jones. (Available at Bates)
• A Slaveholder's Union: Slavery, Politics, and the Constitution in the early American Republic, by George William Van Cleve (ebook)
• Modernizing a Slave Economy: The Economic Vision of the Confederate Nation, by John Majewski (ebook)
• Slavery and American Economic Development, by Gavin Wright (Bowdoin and Bates)
• The Business of Slavery and the Rise of American Capitalism, 1815-1860 (Bowdoin and Colby)
• The Racial Order, by Mustafa Emirbayer and Matthew Desmond. (Available at Bates)
• Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, by Desmond (Available at Bowdoin, Colby and Bates)
• Condemnation of Blackness: Race, Crime, and the Making of Modern Urban America, by Khalil Gilbran Muhammad (ebook)
• Black Women's History in America, by Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross (ebook)

• Acharya, Avidit, Matthew Blackwell, and Maya Sen. 2016. "The Political Legacy of American Slavery." Journal of Politics 78 (3): 621–41. doi:10.1086/686631.
• Berger, T. "Places of Persistence: Slavery and the Geography of Intergenerational Mobility in the United States." Demography 55, 1547–1565 (2018). https://doi.org/10.1007/s13524-018-0693-4 (Open Access).
• Stewart, James B. ""Using History to make Slavery History": The African American Past and the Challenge of Contemporary Slavery." Social Inclusion 3, no. 1 (2015). doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.17645/si.v3i1.143. 

• The Long Shadow - How Slavery Continues to Impact American Society, Passion River Films.
  When two daughters of the South, Director Frances Causey and Producer Sally Holst, set out to find causes for the continuing racial divisions in the United States, they discovered that the politics of slavery didn't end after the Civil War.  In an astonishingly candid look at the history of anti-black racism in the United States, The Long Shadow traces the blunt imposition of white privilege and its ultimate manifestation-slavery. Causey and Holst conclude that, without a doubt, artifacts of slavery remain at work in American society today.
• Liberty & Slavery: The Paradox of America's Founding Fathers, Inertia Films.
  In 1776, America was a place of extreme paradox. While our Founding Fathers were fighting for they own independence, many were also unashamed slave-owners. Indeed they were simultaneously promoting both liberty and slavery. Liberty & Slavery explores why the Founders and their slavery paradox is a lot more complicated than first imagined.

"Down Among de Sugar Cane", words by Arthur W French, music by Chas. D. Blake.

A selection of materials that are mentioned in the readings or closely related materials.

General Databases

• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, via HeinOnline, "This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. [...] The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery."
• North American Slave Narratives "collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920." The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Government Publications

• African American Members of the U.S. Congress: 1870-2020 (CRS Report)
• Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007 (print and online)
• Address on Colonization to a Deputation of Negroes, August 14, 1862. The names of the Black members of the committee are not given, except that of the Chairman, E. M. Thomas. Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln, Volume 5. The Abraham Lincoln Association.
• "Recent Disturbances in East St. Louis, Ill.", a racist statement by James Kimble Vardaman, Senator from Mississippi, Congressional Record, August 16, 1917, p. 6063-6067

Law

• The Constitution of the United States with Index and The Declaration of Independence
• The federal and state constitutions, colonial charters, and other organic laws of the state, territories, and colonies now or hertofore forming the United States of America. Comp. and ed. under the act of Congress of June 30, 1906,
• Dred Scott v. John F.A. Sandford, 60 U.S. 393 (1856), U.S. Supreme Court decision
• Civil Rights Act of 1866, 14 Stat. 27
• Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896), U.S. Supreme Court decision
• Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965, 79 Stat. 911

Other Primary Sources

• Proceedings of the first annual meeting of the National Equal Rights League held in Cleveland, Ohio, October 19, 20, and 21, 1865.
• Orations and Speeches by Charles Sumner. Boston: Ticknor, Reed, and Fields, 1850, vol. 2, pp. 256-257
• "The North and the South", John Forsyth, De Bow's review, v. 17 (1854), p. 365.
• Affleck's southern rural almanac, and plantation and garden calendar for 1856, Thomas Affleck, New Orleans: Office of the Picayune, 1856.
• Narrative of Henry Watson, a fugitive slave, Henry Watson, Boston: Bela Marsh, 1849, p. 19.
• Slave life in Georgia: a narrative of the life, sufferings, and escape of John Brown, a fugitive slave, now in England, John Brown, ed. L. A Chamerovzow, London: [W. M. Watts], 1855, p. 171.

Searching for Primary Sources in Compass

Suggested very broad keyword searches for primary sources in Compass (and similar databases):

[YOUR TOPIC OR NAME] AND (diaries OR diary OR correspondence OR letters OR interviews OR "personal narratives" OR "personal narrative" OR "oral histories" OR "oral history" OR autobiograph* OR memoir* OR sermon* OR speeches OR speech OR addresses OR address)

[YOUR TOPIC OR NAME] AND ("documentary histories" OR "documentary history" OR archives OR sources)