Skip to Main Content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Databases

Find a database by subject, type, or title

Are you getting a "connection not secure" warning when trying to connect to databases? Please see this solution.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Trial ends May 20, 2022.
Trial
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Trial ends May 20, 2022.
Trial
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

Trial ends May 20, 2022.
Trial
Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.

Trial ends May 25, 2022.
Trial
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement is an online collection containing a comprehensive and international set of resources in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy. At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.

Trial ends May 25, 2022.
Trial
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Trial ends May 20, 2022.
New
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content in HLA is sourced from American and global news sources, including Spanish-language or bilingual publications, from the early 18th century to the mid 20th – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era. HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science and technology, and society and culture.
New
Jet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Trial
This database includes archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, chronicling more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

Trial ends May 25, 2022.
New
Music and Dance Online includes audio tracks, video, scores, and reference material. It also includes archival primary sources and periodicals, comprising the largest and most comprehensive online offering of in-copyright audio and video performances and scores available anywhere.
Trial
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time.

Trial ends May 25, 2022.
Trial
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by Fisk University’s Race Relations Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall.

Trial ends May 20, 2022.
New
Debates in the House of Commons and House of Lords, 1774-1805, and Hansard, 1803-2005; Bills and Acts, 1695-2004; Command Papers, 1833-2004; Histories and Proceedings, 1660-1743; House of Commons Papers, 1715-2004; House of Lords Papers, 1714-1805; Journals, 1688-1834. Coverage: 1600s- 2000s.
Trial
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading womens interest consumer magazines. Coverage starts in the late-19th century.

This trial of volume 3 is part of our regular subscription to Women's Magazine Archive.

Trial for volume 3 ends May 25, 2022.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Report a Problem