JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
The European Bureaus provides coverage of the twentieth century’s most influential international bureaus—Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin, and Prague—as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent. Among the most covered topics are WWII and post-war reconstruction, Nazism and its aftermath, the Cold War, espionage, the arms and space races, the fall of the Soviet Union, and many other events and movements that have left an indelible mark on history.
The BAAS collection documents the efforts of the British scientific community to establish science as a professional activity and make Britain into a globally competitive centre for science. The BAAS collection contains a broad collection of document types: reports, manuscript materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, brochures and catalogues; field reports and minutes; annual reports. The BAAS collection is complemented by a wealth of material drawn from ten British universities. The aggregated university collections serve to connect the manuscripts, papers, and correspondence of some of the most important scientists of the 19th and early 20th centuries into a singular source for research.
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement is an online collection containing a comprehensive and international set of resources in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy. At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.
This database includes archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, chronicling more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.
Music and Dance Online includes audio tracks, video, scores, and reference material. It also includes archival primary sources and periodicals, comprising the largest and most comprehensive online offering of in-copyright audio and video performances and scores available anywhere.
The New York Academy of Sciences’ archive encapsulates the history and development of natural science, technology and modern biomedical sciences, and documents anti-intellectualist sentiments towards scientists. The archive includes chronicles of efforts by governments and corporations to influence research into the exploitation of natural resources, labor conditions, and the environmental and economic impacts of mining, drilling, industrial waste and pollution. Collection highlights include: files on the Committee on the Human Rights of Scientists, the 1946 conference on antibiotics, the 1984 conference on AIDS, the Survey of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands, the Harbor Project.
Queen Victoria was the longest serving British monarch, reigning as Queen from 1837 to 1901 and as Empress of India from 1876. In total 141 volumes of her journal survive, numbering approximately 33,000 pages. This resource reproduces every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals (including draft volumes and copies made by Lord Esher and Princess Beatrice), as high-resolution color images along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.
Sabin Americana is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s containing information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
Debates in the House of Commons and House of Lords, 1774-1805, and Hansard, 1803-2005; Bills and Acts, 1695-2004; Command Papers, 1833-2004; Histories and Proceedings, 1660-1743; House of Commons Papers, 1715-2004; House of Lords Papers, 1714-1805; Journals, 1688-1834. Coverage: 1600s- 2000s.