Use the Library Catalog to find books:
"Primary sources are materials produced by people or groups directly involved in the event or topic under consideration, either as participants or witnesses." Secondary sources, on the other hand, "comment on and interpret primary sources".*
*Mary Lynn Rampolla, A Pocket Guide to Writing in History, 4th ed. (Boston: Bedford, 2004), pp. 5-6.
See Primary Sources in American History for details on primary sources and how to find them.
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture: 17th through the early 21st centuries.
Full-text coverage of The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews: 1907-1984.
Current and historical international, national, and regional news.
A wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Full-text coverage of The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).
Complete archive of The Listener (1929-1991), a weekly newspaper developed by the BBC as the medium for reproducing broadcasts.
Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. International in scope: 1665-2000.
Provides one of the largest collections of news from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Access to both the daily and Sunday editions.
Look for foreign newspapers or use our list of historical newspapers to find U.S. perspective on European women and their times.
Journals, newsletters and research reports containing information on women in over 190 countries: 1986-Present.
Focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century through a transnational perspective.
Index to microfiche collection of 34,000 nineteenth-century English-language books and pamphlets published in all parts of the world except North America: 1801-1900.
Conference proceedings, reports of international women’s organizations, publications and web pages of women’s non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century: 1840-Present.
Women's diaries, journals, and letters : an annotated bibliography
Main Ref CT3230 .C55 1989
