Some audio and video will include specific instructions for using and giving attribution. Otherwise, citations for multimedia recordings should include:
For more information, see CMOS 17, 14.261.
Video recordings found online should include a URL or DOI (CMOS 17, 14.6-18).
BBC Sound Effects - "Sound effects and recordings were generally created / made for specific programme making purposes, or are field recordings made for nature programmes." Most come with credits included. If not, put one of this in a prominent place nearby to show where you got the content from: bbc.co.uk – © copyright [the year goes here] BBC. If possible, add a hyperlink to the content’s original location. Make sure it works, and don’t put anything between the credit and the link.
Filmstock Audio and Effects - Large collection of stock audio, effects, and footage. Some available for free.
freeSFX - "Free sound effects that you are able to use in any commercial, non-commercial, broadcast multimedia/audio visual production."
You must credit freesfx.co.uk if you use our sound effects or music in your project.
FreeSound - Community- deposited royalty-free audio clips.
99 Sounds - "99Sounds is an indie sound design label launched by Bedroom Producers Blog in 2014. Our mission is to provide free sound effects and sample libraries of commercial quality, at no charge. All of our products will always be 100% royalty-free and offered as such for both commercial and non-commercial use."
ZapSplat Free Sound Effects - Free sound effects arranged by category.
MusOpen - "We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free."
Kinolab - A large digital humanities collection (created and hosted by Bowdoin College) of film clips for non-commercial use. "Our aim is to be the richest, most comprehensive collection of film and series clips available for non-commercial use in the United States, built from the ground up by the students and scholars using it."
Moving Image Archive from Internet Archive - The Moving Image Archive is a service of the Internet Archive. It contains free movies, films, and video, many of which are licensed under one of the Creative Commons licenses or are in the public domain.
Moving Image Research Center - The Moving Image Research Center at the Library of Congress provides a number of collections of early motion pictures, many of which are in the public domain.
YouTube- Creative Commons - YouTube has a large collection of videos licensed under one of the Creative Commons licenses or the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication. Note that many videos on YouTube are under copyright and have not been licensed under any open license.
Vimeo- Creative Commons - Vimeo has a large collection of videos licensed under one of the Creative Commons licenses or the Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication. Note that many videos on Vimeo are under copyright and have not been licensed under any open license.
Most content from Library-licensed resources is restricted for use within the Bowdoin community. If your project will be made publicly available be sure to look closely at licensing and usage policies. Contact a librarian for assistance.
On-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.
Most content from Library-licensed resources is restricted for use within the Bowdoin community. If your project will be made publicly available be sure to look closely at licensing and usage policies. Contact a librarian for assistance.
A multimedia resource for the study of anthropology, including a large collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials.
