Research Guides: Maps, Territory, and Power in Asia, Hist 2892/ASNS2892: Newspapers &amp; Periodicals

English language, published abroad

These databases include at least one English-language newspaper published in Asia (in either an English-speaking or a non-English speaking country).

Multiple regions with significant content from Asia

Access World News
Current and historical international, national, and regional news.
Google News Archive
Searchable database of scanned newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1700s-Present, depending on newspaper.
Nexis Uni
Worldwide newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals. Archives of state and federal case law, statutes and regulations.
Press Reader
Formerly known as PressDisplay, PressReader provides current online access to 7,000+ full-color, full-page newspapers and magazines from around the world in over 60 languages. Use with a web browser or download the mobile app.
ProQuest International Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one of the largest collections of news from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney: 1757-1817.
World News Connection Archive
WNC provides unfiltered foreign press dispatches, translated into English. They are from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) and cover 1995 to 2013. Please also see "FBIS Full Text, 1974-1996," which provides the full text of Daily Reports from Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Caribbean, Middle East/near East, North America, South America. Dates of Coverage: 1995-2013.

Asia (incl. Russia)

Chinese Newspapers Collection
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

The Current digest of the Russian press, 2011-present
DailyNK
Based in South Korea.
Hindustan Times, 1924-present
The Japan Daily Mail or Japan Weekly Mail
via HathiTrust
Japan News, 1989-present
The Japan Times Online
News, Editorials, Techno Times, etc.

Japan Times Digital Archives, 1897-2016
Full text.

Korea Times, 1956-2016
Full text.
Moscow News Digital Archive
The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). To understand the political context of the Moscow News, please see this page.
South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Dates of Coverage: 1864-1922.

South China Morning Post (1903-1941)
Based in Hong Kong.
Southeast Asian Newspapers
"The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries."
The Times of India, 1861-present

Search for other newspapers

To see a list of Asian newspapers and newspapers about Asia owned by Bowdoin, search Compass by subject using the country or region, followed by subheading "newspapers". Examples:

By region

Asia Newspapers
East Asia Newspapers
Southeast Asia Newspapers
South Asia Newspapers

By country

Cambodia Newspapers
China Newspapers
India Newspapers
Japan Newspapers
Korea Newspapers
Korea (North) Newspapers

By city

New Delhi (India) Newspapers

Periodicals

To see a list of Asian periodicals and periodicals about Asia owned by Bowdoin, search Compass by subject using the country or region, followed by subheading "periodicals". Examples:

By region

Asia Periodicals
East Asia Periodicals
Southeast Asia Periodicals
South Asia Periodicals

By country

Cambodia Periodicals
China Periodicals
India Periodicals
Japan Periodicals
Korea Periodicals
Korea (North) Periodicals

By city

Beijing (China) Periodicals
New Delhi (India) Periodicals