Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts in Special Collections & Archives

A leading expert on English manuscripts defines some 1,500 terms. Includes types of manuscript, their physical features, writing implements, writing surfaces, scribes, scripts, postal markings, seals, and terms relating to literature, bibliography, editing, dating, conservation, cartography, commerce, heraldry, law, and military and naval matters.

A growing consortium of North American institutions with collections of global premodern manuscripts. Digital Scriptorium is dedicated to building an online national union catalog built on Linked Open Data technologies and practices for premodern manuscripts in US collections.

The main sequence is comprised of approximately 200 entries dealing with almost all aspects of Arabic manuscript studies (codicology and paleography); includes appendices covering abbreviations, letterforms, surah-headings, major reference works, and a guide to the description of manuscripts, as well as charts of major historical periods and dynasties.

Focuses on aspects of the medieval book in its cultural situations. Written by experts in the study of the handmade book before print, this volume combines bibliographical expertise with broader insights into the theory and praxis of manuscript study in areas from bibliography to social context, linguistics to location, and archaeology to conservation.

Illustrated, accessible introduction to the medieval manuscript and what it can tell us about the world in which it was made and used. Books Before Print explores how manuscripts can act as a vibrant and versatile tool to understand the deep historical roots of human interaction with written information. It highlights extraordinary continuities between medieval book culture and modern-world communication, as witnessed in medieval pop-up books, posters, speech bubbles, book advertisements, and even sticky notes.