Architectural History of Bowdoin College Resources

Provides extensive documentation of proposals, finances, donations and decisions regarding College buildings and campus planning. In the nineteenth century, plans and concerns relating to the physical development of the campus were usually channeled from president to Visiting Committee to the Governing Boards; by 1899 a formal Committee of the Boards, the Buildings and Grounds Committee, was in existence.

The official administrative records of the president of Bowdoin College, arranged in subgroups by successive president. Each president was involved in numerous projects related to the campus and its buildings and relevant materials are typically founded within their records by the project's name and/or date.

This collection contains correspondence, documents, reports, architectural plans, campus views, photographs, printed materials, clippings, realia, and ephemera. The collection includes general information on buildings at Bowdoin College accumulated from a variety of sources. Subject files include building specifications, correspondence with architects and construction companies, estimates, dedication programs, clippings and ephemera. Also included are Patricia McGraw Anderson's research files for her 1988 book on Bowdoin College architecture.

A chronological compilation of newspaper articles about the College assembled by librarian George T. Little; often contains information on buildings-especially concerning donations and dedications.

This series contains original and some photocopied documents from 1788-1955 related to lands owned by the College. There are receipts, deeds, statements of sale, correspondence, promissory notes, writs of possession, bonds, mortgage notes, contract disputes, appraisals, and surveys. Additional documents are held in the Office of the Treasurer.

The 1976 National Register of Historic Places application lists details of Bowdoin buildings included in The Federal Street Historic District in Brunswick.

Includes subject files on various Bowdoin buildings and construction projects.