Music: Journal & Research Databases

Music Periodicals Database
Indexes and abstracts popular and scholarly music periodicals covering a broad range of research topics including popular music, jazz, and ethnomusicology.

Music Index, 1973-present
Indexes articles, reviews, first performance and obituary information from international music periodicals on a broad range of classical and popular music subjects; links to full-text resources.
  Available in print from 1949-1994.

RILM: Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale
Indexes and abstracts international scholarly journal articles and a wide-range of scholarly resources;links to full-text resources.

Rock's Back Pages
Articles on rock music and culture from the major rock music magazines published in the USA and the UK since the early 1970s.

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Indexes international music journals published between 1800 and 1950.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Primary sources and articles in trade magazines for studying the history of the film, entertainment, music and theatre from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

Music Industry Data
A single search of international charting albums and singles under exclusive academic license from Billboard, the Official Charts Company; chart data may be searched, charted, and downloaded.

Dissertation and Theses Fulltext

Academic Search Complete
Indexes multidisciplinary scholarly and popular music periodicals; links to full-text resources. 

JSTOR
A digital archive of multi-disciplinary scholarly journals; generally the most recent issues are not available. Select "Music" under the search boxes to search only music journals.

Project Muse
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journals; includes recent and archival issues.

Indexes and databases may contain links to the full-text of an article or just a citation or bibiliographic information.  If there is only citation, full-text of the article may be available at Bowdoin in one of our other databases, it may be available in print at Bowdoin, or it may be available at another library through ILL.

To locate the full-text of an article at Bowdoin:

• • Look for the "Find it @ Bowdoin" link. (In most indexes the link is adjacent to the citation.) 
    Click on the link; the article and journal title automatically be searched in our available resources, OR

• Search for the article through the "Journal Titles A-Z" on the Library homepage
  Enter the "source" (SO) or journal title found in your citation.
   
   

To order an article from another library:

• Look for the "Request this item via Interlibrary Loan" link in your "Find it @ Bowdoin" results, OR
• Enter article requests directly through Interlibrary Loan
• More information about Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.