Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research
Excellent collection of links from Alan Liu, English Dept, UCSB.
The American Verse Project
Volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
Online Books Page
From the University of Pennsylvania -- access to over 30,000 books on the Web.
Representative Poetry On-line
Early medieval period to the beginning of the twentieth century. From University of Toronto. Unlike many collections of verse on the Web, this one is edited by scholars. Poems tend to be British and American and number over 3,000.
Bartleby Library
Literature, reference, and verse.
English Language Resources: The Electronic Text Center
A variety of electronic texts and illustrations made available over the Internet from the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia. Some contents available only to UV students.
Victorian Women Writers Project
British women writers of the late 19th century. A collection of anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, and volumes of poetry.
Walt Whitman Hypertext Archive
One-stop shopping for all things Whitman--texts, manuscripts, photos, etc.
In Their Own Words: British Novelists | Interviews with remarkable modern writers from the BBC Archive.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature
An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes According to Bartleby.com this source "is considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published on writings in the English language. Compiled over fourteen years, from 1907 to 1921."
The Children's Literature Web Guide
The Children's Literature Web Guide is an attempt to gather together and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults. From the University of Calgary.
Labyrinth: The World Wide Web Server for Medieval Studies
A comprehensive resource for Medieval Studies: bibliographies, European cultural studies, pedagogical resources, electronic texts, music.
Luminarium
Anthologies of Middle, Renaissance, and 17th Century English literature. A great introduction to the major authors of these periods. Beautiful graphics. Includes biographies, criticism, bibliographies and much more. Very useful as an overview.
Maine Writers Index
Over 350 Maine writers, past and present.
The New Chaucer Society
Includes the Chaucer Bibliography Online
New York Times Books (free but registration required to use New York Times' sites.)
Includes the complete Sunday Book Review, daily book related news and reviews, a searchable archive of over 50,000 New York Times Book Reviews going back to 1980, and more.
PAL: perspectives in American Literature
Covers major movements, narrower themes, and links to individual web pages to nearly 400 authors
The Writers' Workshop Online Resources for Writers (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne)
This page links to the many resources produced by this workshop, as well as links to outside resources for writers. Includes the Grammar Handbook, the Bibliography Styles Handbook, and the Writing Process Handbook. Check out their annotated list of "Best Web Sites for Writers."
