Dictionary of American History
Main Ref E174 .D52 2003
Multi-volume set with extensive entries on events, movements, people, and other topics in American history. Articles contain bibliographies.
American National Biography (Pre-Colonial to the present)
Offers short portraits of more than 17,400 deceased men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Includes more recent articles, in quarterly updates, than the print version.
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895: from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass (online)
Print: Main Ref E185 .E545 2006 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates
Main Ref E174.5 .C3 1993
Detailed chronology of American history starting with Norse exploration in 986, including brief descriptions of social, cultural and economic trends as well as political events.
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Main Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Three-volume, specialized encyclopedia of lengthy scholarly signed articles with bibliographies on social and cultural topics in American history.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the twentieth century
Main Ref E740.7 .E53 1996
Alphabetical collection of articles on events and movements of the twentieth century.
The Reader's Companion to American History
Sponsored by the Society of American Historians.
Print: Main Ref E174 .R43 1991
Consists of short substantive signed articles with bibliographies by historians on topics in American history.
United States History : A Selective Guide to Information Sources.
Main Ref E178 .B57 1994
A bibliographic guide arranged chronologically by event.
