American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Manuscripts, motion pictures, sound recordings, photographs, prints from the Library of Congress.
The Avalon project at the Yale Law School
Full text documents relating to history, law and government organized by time period. The emphasis is on American and European history. An internal search engine simplifies access.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
A bibliography of primary documents, essential to the study of U.S. history, available in full text. The Find in Page button will simplify title access, or the list of topics can be browsed.
100 Milestone Documents
"A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965."
The Making of America
A collection of primary source material–letters, magazine articles, diaries, short monographs-- from 19th century.
National Archive Information Locator (NAIL)
Prototype for a full catalog of National Archives holdings. Digitized texts, photos and prints, and descriptions of NARA's extensive microform collections.
Center for New History and Media, George Mason University
An Internet clearing house for a wide variety of materials about history.
A Century of lawmaking for a new nation: U.S. Congressional documents and debates 1774-1875
Includes digitized versions of the following documents: Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-89); The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787; The Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution; the Journals of House of Representatives and the Senate; United States Statutes at Large; the Senate Executive Journal; the Annals of Congress. The American State papers may be added in the future.
Historical census data browser
Data maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration.
