Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

American History: Indexes & Databases

Background on Locating Journal Articles

Our lists of databases, alphabetical or by subject.

Citation only

Some databases do not provide journal articles in full-text, but rather provide only citations, i.e. information identifying the article with author, article title, journal title, date, volume and issue numbers, page numbers, etc. To get the article, take this information and follow the directions below under "If you already know the title of the journal...".

Directly to full-text

Some databases link directly to full-text journal articles using a link such as PDF full-text, Linked full-text, full-text, full-text - PDF, Article PDF, etc.

Indirectly to full-text and/or other formats

Many citations in many databases have a link reading Find it @ Bowdoin, check availability, or something similar. Clicking that link brings up a window which tells you whether the article (a) is available in full-text, or (b) is available in print or microfilm at Bowdoin, or (c) is not available at Bowdoin but can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

If you already know the title of the journal...

you can select the Journal Titles A-Z tab on the Library Homepage and enter the journal (not the article) title. If we have access to that journal, you'll find a list of full-text subscriptions or other print or microform choices for accessing the article. If the journal is not available at Bowdoin, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)

Indexes & Databases

America: History & Life Best Bet
Primary index for history scholarship of Canada and the United States. Covers articles published from 1964 to present, many in full text.

Academic Search Complete
A mix of scholarly journals, including history, and general interest magazines, covering articles published back as far as 1980. About 60% full text.

Historical Statistics of the United States.
Comprehensive, searchable collection of statistics, including 37,000+ data sets that can be downloaded. A historical supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States. A great place to start looking for data. Footnotes to tables lead you to more detailed or more current data. The introduction to each section provides a helpful summary of major sources. Previous editions are available from the Census Bureau, HathiTrust, and elsewhere online and in print.

Historical statistics of the United States: colonial times to 1970. Print.
Govt Ref C 3.134/2: H 62/798-970/
A compilation by the Census Bureau of demographic, social, and economic statistics describing the U.S. for nearly three centuries.

JSTOR Journals
Full-text articles from selected scholarly journals. Coverage begins with a title’s first issue; however, the most recent years are not available.

Poole's Index To Periodical Literature (print)
Main Per Index
Online via HathiTrust.
Subject index to British and American periodicals of the nineteenth century. Bowdoin Library owns many of these nineteenth century periodicals in its collections. Coverage: 1802-1906

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Digitized : 1817 - 1994
Gov Docs Y1.1/2: (Print volumes)
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is comprised of thousands of sequentially numbered volumes containing congressionally-produced reports and documents. In the 19th century, many executive agency documents were published in the Serial Set as well, making it an extraordinarily rich source of primary documents for American History and culture.

Nexis Uni
Online Database
Full text of domestic and international news and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title but many go back to the late 1980s.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
1989 - Present
Citations to literature published from the sixteenth century to the present. Includes books, journals, conferences, Canadian and US government documents

Writings on American history
Main Libr E11 .W72
Main Libr E11 .W73
Relatively comprehensive subject bibliography of articles and books on the history of the U.S. and of British North America. Coverage: 1902-1990


Washington Receiving a Salute on the Field of Trenton. 1776
National Archives and Records Administration

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem