In the box below is a list of major Decennial Census publications by census year, 1790-1920, with links to the fulltext. Included are statistical publications related to population and housing only. Excluded are:
The following are excellent sources for fulltext of other statistical census publications.
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers | Geographies |
| 1790 (1st) | Return of the whole number of persons within the several districts of the United States, according to "An act providing for the enumeration of the inhabitants of the United States;" passed March the first, one thousand seven hundred and ninety-one. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 2.5:1/reprint No.1 • SuDocs: I 2.5:1 • Dubester: 1, 2, 3, 4 |
US, state, county, city |
| 1790 (1st) | Heads of families at the first census of the United States taken in the year 1790 | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Doc C 3.11:M 28 (Maine) • Bowdoin Govt Doc C 3.11:N 42 h (New Hampshire) • SuDocs: C 3.11: • Dubester: 5 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers | Geographies |
| 1800 (2nd) | Return of the whole number of persons within the several districts of the United States : according to an act providing for the second census or enumeration of the inhabitants of the United States, passed February the twenty eighth, one thousand eight hundred. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 3.5:1/reprint No.2 • SuDocs: I 3.5:1/2, I 3.5:1/1 • Dubester: 8 |
US, state, county, city, township, ward, district, hundred |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers | Geographies |
| 1810 (3rd) | Aggregate amount of each description of persons within the United States of America, and the territories thereof, agreeably to actual enumeration made according to law, in the year 1810. | HathiTrust Google Books |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 4.5:1/reprint No.3 • SuDocs: I 4.5:1 • Dubester: 10 |
|
| 1810 (3rd) | A statement of the arts and manufactures of the United States of America, for the year 1810 | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 4.5:2/reprint No.4 • SuDocs: I 4.5:2/2 • Dubester: 11 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1820 (4th) | Census for 1820 | Census Bureau IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 5.5:1/reprint No.5 • SuDocs: I 5.5:1 • Dubester: 15 |
| 1820 (4th) | Digest of accounts of manufacturing establishments in the United States and of their manufactures : made under direction of the Secretary of State, in pursuance of a resolution of Congress, of 30th March, 1822 | • Bowdoin Govt Folio I 5.5:2/reprint No.6 • SuDocs: I 5.5:2 • Dubester: 16 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1830 (5th) | Fifth census, or, Enumeration of the inhabitants of the United States, 1830 : to which is prefixed, a schedule of the whole number of persons within the several districts of the United States, taken according to the acts of 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820. | • Bowdoin Govt Folio I 6.5:1/reprint • SuDocs: I 6.5:1 • Dubester: 19 |
|
| 1830 (5th) | Abstract of the fifth Census of the United States, 1830 | Census Bureau
HathiTrust Google Books |
• Dubester: 20 |
| 1830 (5th) | Abstract of the Returns of the Fifth Census, Showing the Number of Free People, the Number of Slaves, the Federal or Representative Number; and the Aggregate of Each County of Each State of the United States | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 6.5:2
• 22 H.Doc. 263 • Serial 221 • Dubester: 21 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1840 (6th) | Sixth census or enumeration of the inhabitants of the United States: as corrected at the Department of State, in 1840. | • Bowdoin Govt Folio I 7.5:1/reprint • SuDocs: I 7.5:1 • Dubester: 24 |
|
| 1840 (6th) | Statistics of the United States of America, as collected and returned by the marshals of the several judicial districts, under the thirteenth section of the act for taking the sixth census, corrected at the Department of State, June 1, 1840. | • Bowdoin Govt Folio I 7.5:2/reprint • SuDocs: I 7.5:2 • Dubester: 25 |
|
| 1840 (6th) | Compendium of the enumeration of the inhabitants and statistics of the United States : as obtained at the Department of State, from the returns of the sixth census, by counties and principal towns ... : to which is added an abstract of each preceding census. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 7.5:3/reprint • SuDocs: I 7.2:C 73/1, I 7.2:C 73/2 • Dubester: 26 |
| 1840 (6th) | A census of pensioners for revolutionary or military services, with their names, ages, and places of residence, as returned by the marshals of the several judicial districts, under the act for taking the sixth census. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 7.5:4/reprint • SuDocs: I 7.5:3 • Dubester: 27 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1850 (7th) | The seventh census of the United States, 1850 : embracing a statistical view of each of the states and territories, arranged by counties towns, etc., under the following divisions: 1. populations by counties-classification of ages and color-aggregates; 2. population by subdivisions of counties; 3. nativities of the populations; 4. births, marriages, deaths, dwellings, and families; 5. progress of the populations; 6. deaf and dumb, blind, insane, and idiotic; 7. colleges, academies, schools, &c; 8. attending school, during year, as returned by families; 9. adults in the state who cannot read and write; 10. professions, occupations, and trades of the male population; 11. agriculture-farms and implements, stock products, home manufactures, &c.; 12. newspapers and periodicals; 13. libraries other than private; 14. churches, church property, &c., with an introduction, embracing the aggregate tables for the United States compared with every previous census since 1790-schedules and laws of congress relating to the census in the same period--ratio tables of increase and decrease of cities and states, etc., by sex and ages, and color--table of population of every county, town, township, etc., in the United States, alphabetically arranged--together with some explanatory remarks and an appendix, embracing notes upon the tables of each of the states, etc. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 8.5:1/reprint • SuDocs: I 8.5:1 • 32 H. Misc. Doc. 24 • Serial 686 • Dubester: 30 |
| 1850 (7th) | Mortality statistics of the seventh census of the United States, 1850 [...]. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 8.5:3/reprint • SuDocs: I 8.5:2 • 33 H.Ex.Doc. 98 • Serial 805 • Dubester: 32 |
| 1850 (7th) | Statistical view of the United States : embracing its territory, population--white, free colored, and slave--moral and social condition, industry, property, and revenue ; the detailed statistics of cities, towns and counties ; being a compendium of the seventh census to which are added the results of every previous census, beginning with 1790, in comparative tables, with explanatory and illustrative notes, based upon the schedules and other official sources of information. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 8.5:4/reprint • SuDocs: I 8.2:C 73/1, I 8.2:C 73/2 • Dubester: 33 |
| 1850 (7th) | Report of the Superintendent of the Census for December 1, 1852 : to which is appended the report for December 1, 1851. [Cover title: Abstract of the seventh census] | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 8.1:852
• Dubester: 34 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1860 (8th) | Population of the United States in 1860 : compiled from the original returns of the eighth census, under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 9.5:1/reprint • SuDocs: I 9.5:1 • 38 H. Misc. Doc. 85 • Serial 1202 • Dubester: 37 |
| 1860 (8th) | Statistics of the United States, (including mortality, property, &c.,) in 1860 : comp. from the original returns and being the final exhibit of the eighth census, under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 9.5:4/reprint • SuDocs: I 9.5:4 • 38 H. Misc. Doc. 85 • Serial 1205 • Dubester: 40 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1870 (9th) | Volume I. The statistics of the population of the United States, embracing the tables of race, nationality, sex, selected ages, and occupations, to which are added the statistics of school attendance and illiteracy, of schools, libraries, newspapers and periodicals, churches, pauperism and crime, and of areas, families, and dwellings, compiled from the original returns of the ninth census (June 1, 1870) under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior, by Francis A. Walker, Superintendent of Census. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 10.5:1/reprint • SuDocs: I 10.5:1 • Serial 1473 • Dubester: 45 |
| 1870 (9th) | Vol. II. The vital statistics of the United States : embracing the tables of deaths, births, sex and age, to which are added the statistics of the blind, the deaf and dumb, the insane, and the idiotic ; compiled, from the original returns of the ninth census, (June 1, 1870,) under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 10.5:2/reprint • SuDocs: I 10.5:2 • Serial 1474 • Dubester: 49 |
| 1870 (9th) | Vol. III. The statistics of the wealth and industry of the United States, embracing the tables of wealth, taxation, and public indebtedness ; of agriculture, manufactures, mining, and the fisheries : with which are reproduced, from the volume on population, the major tables of occupations : compiled from the original returns of the ninth census, (June 1, 1870,) under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 10.5:3/reprint • SuDocs: I 10.5:3 • Serial 1475 • Dubester: 52 |
| 1870 (9th) | Statistical Atlas of the United States Based on the Results of the Ninth Census 1870. | Census Bureau Library of Congress David Rumsey Map Collection Internet Archive |
• SuDocs: I 10.2:At 6/1 • Dubester: 55 |
| 1870 (9th) | A compendium of the Ninth census (June 1, 1870). | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• Bowdoin Govt Folio I 10.5:4/reprint • SuDocs: I 10.2:C 73 • Serial 1476 • Dubester: 57 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1880 (10th) | Statistics of the population of the United States at the tenth census (June 1, 1880), embracing extended tables of the population of states, counties, and minor civil divisions, with distinction of race, sex, age, nativity, and occupations; together with summary tables, derived from other census reports, relating to newspapers and periodicals; public schools and illiteracy; the dependent, defective, and delinquent classes, etc. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 11.5:1
• 47 H.Misc.Doc. 42 • Serial 2129 • Dubester 61 |
| 1880 (10th) | Report on the mortality and vital statistics of the United States as returned at the tenth census (June 1, 1880). Part I-Part II | Census Bureau HathiTrust: part I, part II Google Books: part I, part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 11.5:11, I 11.5:12/1, I 11.5:12/2
• 47 H. Misc.Doc. 42 • Serial 2140, 2141, 2142 • Dubester 117-118 |
| 1880 (10th) | Report on the Social Statistics of Cities. Volumes 18-19. | HathiTrust: part I, part II Google Books: part I, part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 11.5:18, I 11.5:19, I 11.5/a:N 42o
• 47 H.Misc.Doc. 42 • Serial 2148, 2149 • Dubester 140, 141, 142, 143 |
| 1880 (10th) | Report On The Defective, Dependent, And Delinquent Classes Of The Population Of The United States, As Returned At The Tenth Census (June 1, 1880). | HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 11.5:21
• 47 H.Misc.Doc. 42 • Serial 2151 • Dubester 145 |
| 1880 (10th) | Compendium of the Tenth Census. | Census Bureau HathiTrust: part I, part II Internet Archive: part I, part II Google Books: part I, part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 11.2: C 73/2, I 11.2: C 73/3, I 11.2: C 73/1, I 11.2: C 73/2-2, I 11.2: C 73/3-2
• 47 H.Misc.Doc. 64 • Serial 2059, 2060 • Dubester 153 |
| 1880 (10th) | Apportionment under tenth census of the United States. Letter from the Secretary of the Interior, transmitting tabular statements exhibiting the total population of each state and territory; the apportionment of members of Congress from 293 to 325; moiety question, &c.; together with remarks of Hon. S.S. Cox, Chairman, &c. January 31, 1881. | • SuDocs: I 11.2:Ap 6 • 46 H.Ex.Doc. 65 • Serial 1968 • Dubester 155 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on population of the United States at the Eleventh Census: 1890. Part I, Part II. | Census Bureau HathiTrust: Part I, Part II Google Books: Part I, Part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.5:15, I 12.5:16
• 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3018, 3019 • Dubester: 176 |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on the insane, feeble-minded, deaf and dumb, and blind in the United States at the Eleventh Census: 1890. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.5:8
• 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3031 • Dubester: 179 |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on crime, pauperism, and benevolence in the United States at the Eleventh Census: 1890. Part I, Part II. | Census Bureau HathiTrust: Part I, Part II Internet Archive: Part I, Part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.5:4, I 12.5:5
• 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3028, 3029 • Dubester: 180-182 |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on vital and social statistics in the United States at the Eleventh Census: 1890. Part I, Part II, Part III, Part IV. | Census Bureau HathiTrust: Part I, Part II, Part III, Part IV IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.5:20; I 12.5:21; I 12.5:22; I 12.5:23;
• 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3033, 3034, 3035, 3036 • Dubester: 183-187 |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on population and resources of Alaska at the eleventh census. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.5:2
• 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3020 • Dubester: 200 |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on Indians taxed and Indians not taxed in the United States (except Alaska) at the eleventh census, 1890. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.5:7
• 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3016 • Dubester: 202 |
| 1890 (11th) | Statistical atlas of the United States : based upon the results of the eleventh census. |
Library of Congress Available at David Rumsey Map Collection |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:At 6 • 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3037 • Dubester: 220 |
| 1890 (11th) | Abstract of the eleventh census: 1890. | Google Books Also see 2nd ed. |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:Ab 8/1 • 53 H.Misc.Doc. 185 • Serial 3229 • Dubester: 221 |
| 1890 (11th) | Abstract of the eleventh census: 1890. 2d ed. | HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:Ab 8/2 • Dubester: 222 |
| 1890 (11th) | Compendium of the eleventh census: 1890. Part I, Part II, Part III. |
HathiTrust:
Part I, Part II, Part III
Google Books: Part I, Part II, Part III IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:C 73/1, I 12.2:C 73/2, I 12.2:C 73/3 • 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3011, 3012, 3013 • Dubester: 223-226 |
| 1890 (11th) | Report on the social statistics of cities in the United States at the eleventh census: 1890. |
HathiTrust
Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:So 1 • Dubester: 230 |
| 1890 (11th) | Special census report on the occupations of the population of the United States at the Eleventh Census: 1890. |
HathiTrust
Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:Oc 1 • 52 H. Misc.Doc. 340 • Serial 3032 • Dubester: 231 |
| 1890 (11th) | Vital statistics of Boston and Philadelphia, covering a period of six years ending May 31, 1890. |
HathiTrust
Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:B 65 • Dubester: 232 |
| 1890 (11th) | Vital statistics of New York City and Brooklyn, covering a period of six years ending May 31, 1890. |
HathiTrust
Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:N 42y • Dubester: 233 |
| 1890 (11th) | Vital statistics of the District of Columbia and Baltimore, covering a period of six years ending May 31, 1890. | HathiTrust
Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 12.2:D 63 • Dubester: 234 |
| 1890 (11th) | Tabular statements exhibiting the population of each state and the apportionment of members of the House of representatives from 332 to 375 under the eleventh census of the United States: 1890. | Internet Archive | • Dubester: 235 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1900 (12th) | Vols. 1-2. Population. Parts I-II. | Census Bureau: Part I, Part II HathiTrust: Part I, Part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 13.5:1, I 13.5:2
• Dubester: 252, 254 |
| 1900 (12th) | Vols. 3-4. Vital Statistics. Part I: Analysis and ratio tables. Part II: Statistics of deaths. | Census Bureau: Part I, Part II HathiTrust: Part I, Part II Internet Archive: Part I, Part II Google Books: Part I, Part II IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 13.5:3, I 13.5:4
• Dubester: 256, 257 |
| 1900 (12th) | Employees and Wages. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books |
• SuDocs: I 13.2:Em 7 • Dubester: 270 |
| 1900 (12th) | Occupations at the Twelfth Census. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books |
• SuDocs: C 3.5:Oc 1 • Dubester: 271 |
| 1900 (12th) | Statistics of Women at Work based on Unpublished Information Derived from the Schedules of the Twelfth Census: 1900. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books |
• SuDocs: C 3.5:W 84 • Dubester: 272 |
| 1900 (12th) | Supplementary Analysis and Derivative Tables. | HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books |
• SuDocs: C 3.5:An 1 • Dubester: 273 |
| 1900 (12th) | Abstract of the Twelfth Census of the United States. | HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: I 13.2:Ab 8/1 • Dubester: 275 |
| 1900 (12th) | Abstract of the Twelfth Census of the United States. 3rd ed. | HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books |
• SuDocs: C 3.2:Ab 8 • Dubester: 276 |
| 1900 (12th) | Statistical Atlas. | Census Bureau (zip file)
IPUMS Available at David Rumsey Map Collection |
• SuDocs: I 13.2:At 6 • Dubester: 277 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1910 (13th) | Vol. I. Population, 1910. General Report and Analysis. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.16:1 • Dubester: 296 |
| 1910 (13th) | Vol. II. Population, 1910. Reports by States, with Statistics for Counties, Cities, and Other Civil Divisions, Alabama-Montana. | Census Bureau IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.16:2 • Dubester: 313 |
| 1910 (13th) | Vol. III. Population, 1910. Reports by States, with Statistics for Counties, Cities, and Other Civil Divisions, Nebraska-Wyoming, Alaska, Hawaii, and Porto Rico. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.16:3 • Dubester: 314 |
| 1910 (13th) | Vol. IV. Population, 1910. Occupation Statistics. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.16:4 • Dubester: 315 |
| 1910 (13th) | Thirteenth Census of the United States taken in the Year 1910. Abstract of the Census. Statistics of Population, Agriculture, Manufactures and Mining for the United States, the States, and Principal Cities with Supplement for [EACH STATE AND TERRITORY]. | Census Bureau (suppl. for: Porto Rico) HathiTrust (suppl. for: Maine, p. 563) Internet Archive (suppl. for: IL, NY) Google Books (suppl. for: Maine p. 563); CA, IA, KS, MI, PA IPUMS (suppl. for: Porto Rico) |
• SuDocs: C 3.15:Un 3, C 3.15:Un 3/2, C 3.15:Un 3/3, C 3.15:CT, C 3.15/a:CT, C 3.15/a:CT/1, C 3.15/a:CT/2, C 3.15/a:CT/3 • Dubester: 345 |
| 1910 (13th) | Statistical Atlas of the United States. | FRASER HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.2:At 6 • Dubester: 346 |
| 1910 (13th) | Indian Population in the United States and Alaska, 1910. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.2:In 2/3 • Dubester: 350 |
| Decennial Census year |
Title | Online versions | Bowdoin location & identifiers |
| 1920 (14th) | Vol. I. Population, 1920. Number and Distribution of Inhabitants. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.28/5:1, C 3.28/5:1/2 • Dubester: 448 |
| 1920 (14th) | Vol. II. Population, 1920. General Report and Analytical Tables. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.28/5:2 • Dubester: 453 |
| 1920 (14th) | Vol. III. Population, 1920. Composition and Characteristics of the Population by States. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.28/5:3 • Dubester: 470 |
| 1920 (14th) | Vol. IV. Population, 1920. Occupations. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.28/5:4 • Dubester: 471 |
| 1920 (14th) | Abstract of the Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1920. | Census Bureau HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.28/7:920 • Dubester: 521 |
| 1920 (14th) | Fourteenth Census of the United States. State Compendium. Statistics of population, occupations, agriculture, manufactures, and mines and quarries for the State, counties, and cities. | Census Bureau Google Books (suppl. for Maine) IPUMS |
• SuDocs: C 3.28/19:CT • Dubester: 526 |
| 1920 (14th) | Statistical Atlas of the United States | FRASER HathiTrust Internet Archive Google Books |
• SuDocs: C 3.2:At 6/924 • Dubester: 528 |
