Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Journal Measures and Citation Analysis Tools: Sources for Rating Journals

Ranking Methods Based on ISI Web of Knowledge (Thomson Reuters)

JCR, eigenFACTOR, and Sci-Bytes

 

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Based on Thomson Reuters' ISI Web of Knowledge citation data, a fee-based product to which Bowdoin does NOT subscribe. Please consider the free alternative below.  JCR covers 10,100 journals. Ranking is based on the Impact Factor and more recently, the eigenFactor. The Impact Factor is calculated by taking the number of all current citations to source items published in a journal over the previous two years and dividing by the number of articles published in the journal during the same period.

 
A sample JCR ranking

 

 

eigenFACTOR

"A version of PageRank [developed by Larry Page and used by Google] has recently been proposed as a replacement for the traditional... [JCR] Impact Factor, and implemented at eigenfactor.org. Instead of merely counting total citations to a journal, the "importance" of each citation is determined in a PageRank fashion." (Wikipedia)

Covers sciences and social sciences and is based on Thomson Reuters' Web of Knowledge citation data.

One of the best known competitors to Journal Citation Reports and since 2009 JCR has even included EigenFACTOR Metrics.

Uses "network analysis and information theory to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals and for mapping the structure of academic research." (http://www.eigenfactor.org/about.php)

“Borrowing methods from network theory, eigenfactor.org ranks the influence of journals much as Google’s PageRank algorithm ranks the influence of web pages. By this approach, journals are considered to be influential if they are cited often by other influential journals.” (http://www.eigenfactor.org/methods.php)

A benefit to using eigenFACTOR is that it "allows for the fact that disciplines have different standards for citation and different time scales on which citations occur." (http://library.ittdublin.ie/screens/jcr.html)

 

 

 

 (Unless otherwise noted all information is from the product's web site.)

Ranking Methods Based on ScopusĀ® (Elsevier B.V.)

Scopus, SJR, and SNIP

Scopus' Journal Compare

From Scopus (Elsevier), a subscription database, Journal Analyzer includes the two measures listed below which are freely available at the websites listed. In addition Analyzer includes the h-index, percent of reviews, and percent of articles cited and not cited in a given year. In late 2014 Scopus added IPP- Impact per Publication. Choose the Compare Journals option from the bar near the top of the page.

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)

Covers over 17,000 journals; sciences and humanities. Based on Scopus data using the Google PageRank algorithm. More journals and disciplines are covered compared to JCR.

“The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database."  Also includes, as one measure, the h-index. Begins in 1996. The SJR indicator "is a measure of journal's impact, influence or prestige. It expresses the average number of weighted citations received in the selected year by the documents published in the journal in the three previous years" (http://www.scimagojr.com/journalrank.php) (http://www.scimagojr.com/)

SJR is a "prestige metric based on the idea that ‘all citations are not created equal’. With SJR, the subject field, quality and reputation of the journal has a direct impact on the value of a citation. This means that a citation from a source with a relatively high SJR is worth more than a citation from a source with a lower SJR."

About SJR
— Is weighted by the prestige of the journal, thereby
‘leveling the playing field’ among journals.
— Eliminates manipulation: the only way to raise the
SJR ranking is to be published in more reputable
journals.
— ‘Shares’ a journal’s prestige equally over the total
number of citations in that journal.
— Normalizes for differences in citation behavior between
subject fields.
(http://www.info.sciverse.com/documents/files/scopus-training/resourcelibrary/pdf/journalmetrics_factsheet_web.pdf)

SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)

Provided by Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) at Leiden University and based on Scopus data. More journals and disciplines covered compared to JCR.
Rank is based on the ratio of a journal’s raw impact per paper (RIP) and the relative database citation potential (RDCP) in the subject field covered by the journal.

SNIP is the average number of citations received by 1-3 year old papers published in the target journal divided by the average number of 1-3 year old cited references contained in papers citing the target journal.

(http://www.journalindicators.com/Moed%20Presentation%20APE%202010%20SNIP.pdf)

About SNIP
— Measures contextual citation impact by ‘normalizing’
citation values
— Takes a research field’s citation frequency into
account
— Considers immediacy - how quickly a paper is likely
to have an impact in a given field
— Accounts for how well the field is covered by the
underlying database
— Calculates without use of a journal’s subject classification
to avoid delimitation
— Counters any potential for editorial manipulation

You can search SNIP and SJR together at http://www.journalmetrics.com/

 (Unless otherwise noted all information is from the product's web site.)

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem