Power and Dilemmas in US Education: State/National Data Sources

Current statistics on education in individual states are available through the States' department of education websites.

State Contacts (State Department's of Education), a list from the US Department of Education
If are not able link to your state through the list above, search first for official state website, there usually is a link to the state's department of education.

Other Sources for State Statistics

NCES Fast Facts-State level Statistics
Provides "recent state-by-state information on achievement, attainment, demographics, enrollment, finances and teachers at the elementary, secondary, and postsecondary level."

State Profiles
Find key data for states on the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) assessments. View trends and demographics, download snapshot reports, and compare results for each state/jurisdiction to the nation and to the other states.

Digest of Education Statistics

• Total public school student population
• Average per pupil expenditure by state and national
• Number of charter schools and percentage of students served (if applicable)
• Total state public education expenditure             

Fast Facts (NCES)

• Public and private school enrollment, by state
• Graduation rates (total, and by demographics)
• Number of charter schools, percentage of students served, enrollment (if applicable)
• High school graduation rates (total)
• Variety of national statistics

Nations Report Card (NAEP)

• Student demographics (race/ethnicity, ELL, poverty rates)-some
• Subject matter assessed by accountability measures-some, see also state

ELSi (Elementary/Secondary Information System, NCES)

• Expenditures per pupil
• Student demographics

Condition of Education (NCES)

• Graduation rates

Digest State Dashboard (NCES)
Provides state-level data on topics of current interest in American education. Hover over a state or other entity to see an at-a-glance profile or click to access a detailed profile. 

National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."

Site Index

   Condition of Education

   Digest of Education Statistics

   Fast Facts

  Annual Reports
  Includes projections, topical studies and publications in addition to statistic tables

  Private School Universe Survey

  State Education Practices

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Wage Data by Area and Occupation
National and State teacher salary information

Proquest Statistical Insight
Documents and data from the US government, state, and private sources.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Includes tables with historic data (1889-2010), and current data (choose Frasier publications)

U.S. Census Bureau Data

Explore Census Data
Includes population, housing, economic, education and geographic data; includes the annual American Community Survey.

Education Census Data
Includes school finance, enrollment, teaching statistics and more.

Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE)
"Single-year estimates of income and poverty for all U.S. states and counties as well as estimates of school-age children in poverty for all 13,000+ school districts."

State & County Quick Facts

State & Local Government Finances
Includes current and historical local education budget information