Skip to Main Content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Chicago-Style Citations: Social & Online Media, Data, Music, and Other Non-Print Materials, 17th ed.: Maps &
Spatial Data

Citation Guide

For maps, spatial data, etc. not provided with a model on this page, we recommend following the examples provided in:

Kollen, Christine, Wangyal Shawa, and Mary Larsgaard. Cartographic Citations: a Style Guide. Chicago: Map and Geography Round Table, American Library Association, 2010.
Main Ref Desk GA108.7 .C55 2010

The authors state that in this guide, "general citation guidelines as mandated by The Chicago Manual of Style were followed, particularly when manuals differed." The guide includes examples of citations to manuscript maps, printed single-sheet maps, maps in books and articles, atlases, three-dimensional models, remote-sensing imagery, mapping software, geospatial data, maps from websites, and other cartographic materials.

Fairly simple examples of citations are also provided in CMOS 17, 14.237.

Spatial Data

Basic form for a bibliographic entry for spatial data (as modified from Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard 2010, 24): Author. Title. Edition. Place of production: Producer, Date.

If the title is not available, supply a short title in brackets (Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard 2010, 11).

Note 11. U.S. Bureau of the Census, 2010 TIGER/Line Shapefiles [Maine, Cumberland County, Blocks], ftp://ftp2.census.gov/geo/pvs/tiger2010st/23_Maine/23005/tl_2010_23005_tabblock10.zip.
Bibliographic
Entry
U.S. Bureau of the Census. 2010 TIGER/Line Shapefiles [Maine, Cumberland County, Blocks]. ftp://ftp2.census.gov/geo/pvs/tiger2010st/23_Maine/23005/tl_2010_23005_tabblock10.zip.

Source: Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard (2010, 11, 24).

Map in a Series

There may be information on a map that is not necessary to include in a citation. Please contact us for assistance in identifying the essential information to include in a citation.

Basic form for a bibliographic entry (as modified from Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard 2010, 17): Author. Sheet Title. Edition. Scale. Series Title, number in series. Place of publication: Publisher, Date of publication. Access date. URL.

Note 9. U.S. Bureau of the Census, 2010 Census - Census Block Map: Brunswick Town, ME, 2010 ed., scale 1:3500, Geographic Unit (GU) Block Map Series, 21302300508430A02 (U.S. Census Bureau, 2011), accessed September 30, 2014, http://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/dc10map/GUBlock/st23_me/cousub/cs2300508430_brunswick/DC10BLK_CS2300508430_A02.pdf.
Bibliographic
Entry
U.S. Bureau of the Census. 2010 Census - Census Block Map: Brunswick Town, ME. 2010 ed. Scale 1:3500. Geographic Unit (GU) Block Map Series, 21302300508430A02. U.S. Census Bureau, 2011. Accessed September 30, 2014. http://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/dc10map/GUBlock/st23_me/cousub/cs2300508430_brunswick/DC10BLK_CS2300508430_A02.pdf.

Source: Modified from Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard (2010, 17, 18). Date of access follows the style of CMOS 17, 14.207.

USGS Topographic Map

USGS topographic map, downloaded from the Internet

According to Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard (2010, 17)'s model, in these examples, the date of the information on the map is 1961 and the date of publication is 1981. Revision dates, if any, should also be included in the citation, as in the examples. There may be other information on a map that is not necessary to include in a citation. Please contact us for assistance in identifying the essential information to include in a citation.

Basic form for a bibliographic entry (as modified from Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard 2010, 16): Author. Sheet Title. Edition. Scale. Series Title, series number. Place of publication: Publisher, Date of publication. Access date. URL.

Note 8. U.S. Geological Survey, Rutland, VT., 1961 ed., photorevised 1980, scale 1:24,000, 7.5 Minute Series (Topographic) (Reston, Va.: USGS, 1981), accessed September 29, 2014, http://historicalmaps.arcgis.com/usgs/.
Bibliographic
Entry
U.S. Geological Survey. Rutland, VT.1961 ed., photorevised 1980. Scale 1:24,000. 7.5 Minute Series (Topographic). Reston, Va.: USGS, 1981. Accessed September 29, 2014. http://historicalmaps.arcgis.com/usgs/.

Sources: Bibliographic entry adapted from Kollen, Shawa, and Larsgaard (2010, 16, 17). Date of access follows the style of CMOS 17, 14.207.

USGS topographic map, paper

For paper topographic maps, follow the style above under "USGS topographic maps, downloaded from the Internet", omitting the information pertaining to the downloaded version beginning with the word "access".

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Report a Problem