Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Comparative Constitutional Law, Gov 2480: Treaties

Treaties

Using the questions accompanying the table below, find a source that provides the information needed.

There are many other sources of treaties. Contact us for assistance.

Questions

  1. Does the source only include treaties to which the U.S. is a party?
  2. Does the source include the full-text of the treaty?
  3. Does the source tell you whether the treaty is in force?
  4. Years of treaties included in the source.
1. only if US a party 2.
Full-text
3. In force Title 4. Treaty years Format Location & Notes
    Index-guide to treaties: based on the Consolidated treaty series Best Bet 1648-1920 print Main Ref JX120 .P352
    The consolidated treaty series (CTS) Best Bet 1648-1920 print Main Libr JX120 .P35.
Note: Start with Index-guide to treaties.
    League of Nations treaty series (LNTS) Best Bet 1920-1948 online League of Nations treaty series, United Nations treaty collection.
Note: "Treaties and subsequent treaty actions registered with and published by the Secretariat of the League of Nations pursuant to Article 18 of its Covenant."
    United Nations treaty series (UNTS) Best Bet 1946- online United Nations treaty series, United Nations treaty collection.
Note: "All treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the [UN] Secretariat since 1945."
  EUR-Lex Treaties 1951- online EUR-Lex Treaties. "The EU treaties are binding agreements between EU member countries."
    International Legal Materials (ILM) 1962-
(v.1-)
online Nexis Uni. Choose: Menu > All Sources > Search Within Sources > International Legal Materials.
Note: "Important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions", etc.
Other sources
  link to FT Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (Status of Treaties) Best Bet   online Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General.
Note: "Status of over 560 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations."
  Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949 Best Bet 1776-1949 online HeinOnline > International Treaties and Agreements > U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library > Treaty Publications.
print Govt Doc S 9.12/2:
  Treaties and other international acts series (TIAS) Best Bet 1945- print Govt Doc S 9.10:
Govt Doc S 9.12:
1982-2016 online HeinOnline > International Treaties and Agreements > U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library > Treaty Publications > TIAS Agreements.
1996-2016 online Texts of International Agreements to which the US is a Party (TIAS), U.S. Dept. of State
  United States treaties and other international agreements (UST) Best Bet 1950-1984 print Govt Doc S 9.12:
1950-1984
(v. 1-35)
online HeinOnline > International Treaties and Agreements > U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library > Treaty Publications.
Note: Includes treaties from TIAS.
U.S. Treaties on LEXIS Online Nexis Uni. Choose: Menu > All Sources > Search Within Sources > U.S. Treaties on LEXIS. A "compilation of full-text ratified and unratified treaties and international agreements, where the United States is a party or signatory. This includes not only treaties signed by the President with the advice and consent of the US Senate, but also international agreements from the U.S. Government".
Treaties in force: a list of treaties and other international acts of the United States in force on [...] Best Bet all print Govt Doc S 9.14:
Govt Ref S 9.14:
online HeinOnline > International Treaties and Agreements > U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library > Treaty Guides and Indexes > Treaties in Force
online

online from various sources

Other sources: U.S. a party

Treaty Documents, 81st-115th Congress (1949-2018)
"A Senate treaty document provides the text of the treaty as transmitted to the Senate, as well as the transmittal letter from the President, the submittal letter from the Secretary of State, and accompanying papers." "Treaty documents are available [...] for all treaties submitted to the Senate since the 94th Congress (1975-1976). Treaties submitted prior to the 94th Congress are included if they were pending in 1975."

Reference materials : U.S. a party

Finding Agreements, U.S. Dept. of State

U.S. Treaties: A Beginner’s Guide, Library of Congress

Restatement of the law, the foreign relations law of the United States
Main Libr KF4651 .R47 1987

Other reference materials

Parry & Grant encyclopaedic dictionary of international law

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements
Main Ref KZ4968 .O84 2003

National treaty law and practice, 2005. Treaty-making in: Austria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Israel, Japan, Mexico, The Netherlands, Russia, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States.

Steps in the [international] treaty-making process, United Nations University.

Understanding Peace Treaties, Insights on Law and Society 13 (Spring 2013)

Senate Executive Documents, S. Treaty Documents, and S. Executive Reports

"Senate Executive Documents contain the text of a Treaty as it is submitted to the U.S. Senate for ratification by the President of the United States. Beginning with the 97th Congress in 1981, Executive Documents became known as Treaty Documents, and they are now numbered instead of lettered alphabetically." (FDsys)

"Senate Treaty Documents contain the text of a Treaty as it is submitted to the U.S. Senate for ratification by the President of the United States. Numbered consecutively from the 1st Session through the 2d Session of a Congress. Prior to the 97th Congress known as Executive (Lettered) Documents, and identified by letters of the alphabet." (FDsys)

"Senate Executive Reports: Reports of the Committee on Foreign Relations relating to Treaties between the United States and foreign nations, which have been submitted to the U.S. Senate for ratification, or are reports of various Senate Committees regarding nomination of individuals." (FDsys)

Title

Congress

Years

Format

Location

Senate Executive Documents (-1980) 30-96 1847-1980 online U.S. Congressional Serial Set (most are not in the Serial Set)
30-96 1847-1980 print Govt Doc Y 1.1/2:SERIAL (with gaps) (most are not in the Serial Set)
Senate Treaty Documents (1981-) 97-103 1981-1994 online U.S. Congressional Serial Set
97-103 1981-1994 print Govt Doc Y 1.1/2:SERIAL (with gaps)
97-114 1981-2016 online HeinOnline. Choose International Treaties and Agreements > U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library > Treaty Publications
104-present 1995-present online congress.gov
104-present 1995-present online search or browse Congressional Documents in govinfo
Senate Executive Reports 1-57 1789-1901 online & print Compilation of reports of the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, 1789-1901, Serial Set volumes 4047-4054. All then-known reports, including Senate Executive Reports.
Online: U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Print: Govt Doc Y 1.1/2:4047-4054.
96-103 1979-1994 online U.S. Congressional Serial Set
96-103 1979-1994 print Govt Doc Y 1.1/2:SERIAL (with gaps)
104-present 1995-present online search or browse Congressional Reports in govinfo
Indexing only 1-present 1789-present online ProQuest Congressional. Choose "House & Senate Documents" and/or "House & Senate Reports".

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem