Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Comparative Constitutional Law, Gov 2480: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

The Oxford handbook of comparative law
Bowdoin Main Ref K48 .O96 2006

Human rights: an international and comparative law bibliography
Main Ref K3236 .H86 1985

United States

Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Main Ref KF4527 .U54 2002
Updated online via govinfo. Also available as a mobile app from congress.gov.
A great place to start research on the U.S. Constitution. Includes analysis and footnotes to Supreme Court cases and law review articles.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, (online, 2011)

Black's Law Dictionary Best Bet
Main Ref KF156 .B53 2014
Black's Law Dictionary is also in Westlaw under All Content > Secondary Sources.

The Constitutional Law Dictionary
Main Ref KF4548.5 .C47 1985

Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2002
Main Ref KF4557 .V555 2003

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Main Ref KF4548 .E53 2000

The Evolving Constitution: how the Supreme Court has ruled on issues from abortion to zoning
Main Ref KF4548 .L54 1992

Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States (online)
Main Ref KF8742.A35 O93 2005 (print)

FindLaw
A legal information site.

Legal Information Institute from the Cornell Law School
Overview of law written in clear language for the lay person.

More Reference sources.

Legal Citations

Chicago style

Style and Citation Guides
Bowdoin Library maintains this list of resources for Chicago, Bluebook, and other styles.

Bluebook style

The bluebook : a uniform system of citation
Main Ref Desk KF245 .B58 20th 2015
The standard legal citation guide. I recommend the Quick Style Guide.

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (LII)
Peter W. Martin, Cornell Law School.

Other styles

Guide to foreign and international legal citations, New York University School of Law
Main Ref K89 .G84 2006

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem