Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

Media and Politics in Modern India, Hist 2343/ASNS 2582: Gov't & Law

Law review articles

Index to Legal Periodicals and books, 1982- Best Bet
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, 1908-1981

International coverage and access to law reviews, scholarly articles, jurisdictional surveys, legislation, and more. Search on a citation to a case in the "Court Cases" field. Search on a citation to the U.S. Code using the form "8 U.S.C. 1158" in the "Statute" field. The "check availability" link connects to full-text in most cases.


HeinOnline's Law Journal Library Best Bet

From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "Law Journal Library". Coverage from the first issue of "more than 2300 law and law-related periodicals". Our strongest database for foreign law reviews.

Help: Training Guides, including Advanced Search Syntax.


Westlaw

Full-text subscription database of case law, law reviews, and news.

  • To find U.S. law review articles, choose "All content" > "Secondary Sources" > "Law Reviews & Journals". Alternatively, from a results list, if available, choose "Secondary Sources" > "Law Reviews & Journals".

Help: "Campus Help Guide" [i.e. "Introduction to legal research on Westlaw Next"] is linked to at the bottom of every Westlaw webpage. Other guides, including Searching with Boolean Terms and Connectors are also available.


Nexis Uni

Full-text subscription database of federal and state cases, statutes, law review articles, news, and more.

  • Law review articles. Choose: "Advanced Search" > "Select a specific content type" > Law Reviews and Journals > Law Reviews and Journals.

Help (at the top right of the search screen) or Top 10 Nexis Uni™ Features to Explore.

Government Documents

Constitution

World Constitutions Illustrated via HeinOnline.
Includes "the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more."

Parliament

Debates in Lok Sabha

Link to debates in Rajya Sabha

Supreme Court

Judgments, Supreme Court of India

Background & Guides

"The legal system of the Republic of India", 2001, in Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia, via HeinOnline. A "compilation of the various legal systems of the world".

Article 370: A Constitutional History of Jammu and Kashmir

Guide to Law Online: India, Library of Congress

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem