Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library

The Japanese Empire and World War II, Hist 2890/ASNS 2310: Home

Hist 2890/ASNS 2310

Professor: Sakura Christmas

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

 

Japanese Occupation, 1940
commons.wikimedia.org, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license

Call numbers: History of Japan

You can browse the shelves in this call number range for Japanese history: DS 801 - DS 897, including these historical periods:

DS 849.7 - DS 871.76 Earliest to 1600
DS 871.77 - DS 873 1600-1709
DS 874 - DS 881.1 1709-1853
DS 881.2 - DS 881.84 1853-1868, Bakumatsu period
DS 881.85 - DS 893 1868-present, Modern period

Spelling and name variations

When searching, be sure to search on spelling variations or alternatives of geographic and personal names. For example:

  • Japan, Japon, Nihon, Nippon
  • Okinawa, Ryukyu(s), Liuchiu(s), Lewchew(s), Loochoo
  • Korea, Corea, Chosen, Choson
  • Manchuria, Manchukuo, Manchoukuo, Manchoukou (a common typo), Northeast China, Tartary
  • Taiwan, Formosa
  • Ainu, Aino(s), Ainoo
  • Hakodate, Hakodadi
  • Marco Polo Bridge, Rokōkyō, Lugou Bridge, Lukou Bridge, Lugouqiao, Lukouchiao, Lukowkiao
  • Saigō Takamori, Saigo Takamori, Saigō Kokichi, Saigō Nanshū

Newspapers

Japan Times Archive, 1897 - 2016. Hint: to download, display the page you want to download. Then...

  • PC-Firefox: File > Save page as > Web page, complete. Pay attention to where you saved it. Starting from the folder in which you saved the page, the .png image of the newspaper page is in the "The Japan Times Archives Search_files" folder.
  • Mac-Firefox: File > Save Page As > Web Page, Complete. Pay attention to where you saved it. Starting from the folder in which you saved the page, the image of the newspaper page is in the Search_files folder.

The Japan Times Mar. 22, 1897 (Meiji 30) - Mar. 31, 1918 (Taisho 7)
The Japan Times & Mail Apr. 1, 1918 (Taisho 7) - Nov. 10, 1940 (Showa 15)
The Japan Times And Advertiser Nov. 11, 1940 (Showa 15) - Dec. 31, 1940 (Showa 15)
The Japan Advertiser Jan. 17, 1917 (Taisho 6)
May 10, 1925 (Taisho 14))
May 17, 1925 (Taisho 14))
May 24, 1925 (Taisho 14))
May 31, 1925 (Taisho 14))
Sep. 24, 1932 (Showa 7))
Mar. 22, 1933 (Showa 8))
Oct. 21, 1940 (Showa 15)
Japan Times & Advertiser Jan. 1, 1941 (Showa 16) - Oct. 4, 1942 (Showa 17)
Japan Times Advertiser Oct. 5, 1942 (Showa 17) - Dec. 31, 1942 (Showa 17)
Nippon Times Jan. 1, 1943 (Showa 18) - June30, 1956 (Showa 31)
The Japan Times July 1, 1956 (Showa 31) -

Japan Times (current)

Chinese Newspapers Collection
A variety of English-language Chinese newspapers, from ca. 1832-1953. Click on "Publications" to get a list of publications included.

Also

Other Gems

JapanKnowledge provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text, and other visual and sound databases. Encyclopedia of Japan is in English, otherwise the materials are in Japanese. Hint #1: If the content is in Japanese, click on "Eng" at the top right. Click on the "basic search" or "advanced search" tab. Enter a search term in English. Look for items on the results list that contain substantial English content. Hint #2: Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan (Bowdoin Main Ref DS805 .K633 1983) includes bibliographies and has longer entries.

Historical Abstracts and JSTOR are excellent sources for journal articles on Japan and Japanese history. Also:

Resources for primary sources include:

OneSearch is the single most comprehensive (but not 100%) tool for searching the Library's print and electronic resources. It is especially good for searching for the proverbial needle in the haystack. You can limit to book reviews.

Research guide on Asian History, particularly the tab on Japan.

Librarian

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem