Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library

Buried Treasure, Hidden Curse? Politics of Natural Resources Extraction in Africa, Gov 1029/AFRS 1029: Home

Gov 1029/AFRS 1029

Professor: Ericka Albaugh

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

Mineral facilities of Africa and the Middle East

USGS, Mineral facilities of Africa and the Middle East, J.M. Eros and Luissette Candelario-Quintana, Open-File Report 2006-1135.

Extracting Gems from the Library

  1. Top Exports by Country. World Integrated Trade Solution, WorldBank.
    "WITS TradeStat Database is designed with the purpose of providing the latest international merchandise and commercial services trade data and overview of country and region's imports and exports, tariff and non-tariff measures." About.
  2. General country background. Databases > Europa World Plus (online). For 1963-2006 (with gaps), use: The Europa year book; Bowdoin Main Ref JN1 .E85, Bowdoin Main Ref JN1 .E852.
    Provides political and economic information about countries of the world.
  3. Specific information
    • OneSearch.
      The scholarly alternative to Google. Provides Bowdoin Library's most comprehensive (but not 100%) access to electronic and other resources.
    • Databases > Academic Search Complete.
      Multi-disciplinary, a mix of scholarly and popular articles.
    • Databases > JSTOR.
      Multi-disciplinary; scholarly; great for older articles, but typically not for articles published within the past 2-5 years.
  4. Physical and resource information
  5. Citing sources. Use "Citing Sources" in "See Also" box to left.
  6. Quantitative information. Databases > World Development Indicators.
    "The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates."
  7. Government finances.
    • World Bank Open Knowledge Repository.
      "The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
    • Databases > IMF eLibrary.
      Direct access to the International Monetary Fund's (IMF) periodicals, books, working papers and studies.
  8. Political information.
    • Freedom House.
      "Freedom in the World, Freedom House’s flagship publication, is the standard-setting comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties. Published annually since 1972, the survey ratings and narrative reports on 195 countries and 14 related and disputed territories are used by policymakers, the media, international corporations, civic activists, and human rights defenders to monitor trends in democracy and track improvements and setbacks in freedom worldwide."
    • Polity IV Individual Country Regime Trends, 1946-2013.
      "Annual Polity scores have been plotted for each of the 167 countries currently covered by the Polity IV data series for the period 1946-2013 (trend graphs are also included with the Polity IV 2010 Country Reports). This version of the Polity Country Trend graphs display periods of "factionalism" and important Polity change events, including autocratic backsliding, executive auto-coup or autogolpe, revolution, collapse of central authority (state failure), and successful military coups."

Librarian

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem