Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library Ask Us!

United States Congress, Gov 2010: Secondary Sources

Gov 2010

Professor: Janet Martin

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

News

New York Times [1851-2010] [1980-present] [website] Best Bet

Washington Post [1877-1996] [1996-present] [website] Best Bet

Nexis Uni, national and local newspapers, TV and radio transcripts from the major networks.

C-SPAN Video, hundreds of videos and live broadcasts on public policy.

C-SPAN Congressional Chronicle, member information, committee information, votes, recorded and live video proceedings & hearings, and more. Best Bet

More news sources (current, historical, audio/video, and more)

Current news and analysis

Major national newspapers provide good coverage of national politics: Washington Post, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal.

Other sources:

CQ Magazine
Published weekly. "In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes."

Great for Background Information

Congress, a more basic, and
Congressional Documents, a more advanced,
online finding tool for Congressional
publications at Bowdoin College Library.

CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly) (online, 1983-present) Best Bet
Govt Index JK1 .C15 (print, 1964-2012)
Published weekly. "In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes."

CQ Almanac (online, 1945-present) Best Bet
Govt Index JK1 .C66 (print, 1948-present)
Published annually. Exceedingly useful tool. Each annual volume summarizes selected Congressional action on a full range of topics: appropriations, defense, commerce, agricultural, health, economy, etc. Also includes congressional leadership, roll call votes, key votes, voting analyses (presidential support, party unity, voting participation), list of public laws passed, etc. For public laws, provides a brief history of a bill, including bill numbers, committee reports, date signed by the President, etc. Note: Some important content such as CQ Key Votes, Public Laws, Interest Group Ratings, Party Unity, Presidential Support, Voting Participation, etc. are found only in the "Series Appendix"; these sections are not browsable with the rest of the annual volume and they appear not to be searchable.

Congress and the Nation
Govt Index JK411 .C6
1945-present (print)
Congress and the Nation, 2013-2016 (online)
Published annually. Exceedingly useful tool. Each annual volume summarizes selected Congressional action on a full range of topics: appropriations, defense, commerce, agricultural, health, economy, etc. Also includes congressional leadership, roll call votes, key votes, voting analyses (presidential support, party unity, voting participation), list of public laws passed, etc. For public laws, provides a brief history of a bill, including bill numbers, committee reports, date signed by the President, etc.

Guide to Congress
Main Ref JK1021 .C565 2008
From Congressional Quarterly

National journal (online) Best Bet
1994-
Main Periodical (print)
v.9:43- 1977-
(Use PAIS International to search for some of the articles published in National Journal before our electronic subscription begins in 1994.)

Almanac of American Politics, 2012- (online) Best Bet
Almanac of American Politics, 1974- (print)
Main Ref (previous 5 years), or Main Libr JK 1012 .A44
Similar to Politics in America. A volume is issued for each Congress. Organized by state, it includes for each member: biography, committees, key votes, group ratings, National Journal ratings, election results, and for members of the House, description of the district and demographics. Also includes state profiles, campaign finance, etc.

Vital Statistics on Congress (print)
Main Ref JK1041 .V57
Data, July 2013
Chock full of statistics on members, elections, campaign finance, committees, expenses, workload.  Does not include statistics on individuals.

CRS Reports. "The Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides comprehensive research and analysis on all legislative and oversight issues of interest to Congress." Best Bet

GAO Reports. The GAO provides "Congress with timely information that is objective, fact-based, nonpartisan, nonideological, fair, and balanced".

Scholarly articles

The databases below cover relevant political science journals such as:

  • American Journal of Political Science
  • American Political Science Review
  • American Politics Quarterly
  • Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science
  • Journal of Politics
  • Legislative Studies Quarterly
  • Political Science Quarterly
  • Polity
  • Presidency and Congress
  • Social Science Quarterly
  • Western Political Quarterly (continued by Political Research Quarterly)

Academic Search Complete

ProQuest Political Science

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Best Bet

JSTOR Best Bet

Subject Guide

Glossaries

Glossary
"Brief explanations of legislative terms used throughout Congress.gov."

Glossary of Terms
From the U.S. Senate. What is an engrossed bill? Enrolled bill? Cloture?

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem