Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library

Law and Justice in East Asia, Hist3420/ASNS3820: Home

Gems

JapanKnowledge
Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text, and other visual and sound databases.
Encyclopedia of Japan is in English, otherwise the materials are in Japanese. Hint: For English content, click on "English" at the top right. Click on the "basic search" or "advanced search" tab. Enter a search term in English. Look for items on the results list that contain substantial English content.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Main Ref DS805 .K633 1983; 9 vols.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text

OneSearch
The single most comprehensive tool for searching the Library's print and electronic resources. You can limit to book reviews.

WorldCat. Database contains the holdings of every major library in the country and some in Britain, over 40 million records. Check to see whether CBBcat or MaineCat hold the item of interest; otherwise request via Interlibrary Loan.

Research guide on Asian History.

Chinese history : a new manual
Main Ref DS735 .W695 2015
A fabulous resource, with short essays putting each topic in context and many secondary sources in English. Most sources are in Chinese, however.

How to find historiographies

Historiographies are published more commonly as article-length than as book-length works. Generally, use broader search terms when searching for books.

  • Some scholarly articles available through America: History and Life (for U.S. and Canada) and Historical Abstracts (elsewhere) are historiographical in nature. Consider ANDing in the word historiography (which is a subject), e.g.
       park* AND historiography
    Broaden out the search by ORing in "review essay":
       park* AND (historiography OR "review essay")
  • The following journals frequently include historiographies. They are indexed in AHL and HA.
    • "History Compass publishes peer-reviewed articles on the most important research and thinking across the entire discipline, with no restrictions in terms of geography, time period or historical methodology."
    • Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
    • Reviews in American History. "Each issue presents in-depth reviews of more than twenty of the newest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works by major historians are also regularly featured."
    • History & Theory
  • Book reviews can be historiographical in nature. To find them, do an advanced search in America: History and Life or Historical Abstracts, limiting to Document Type > Book Review. In AHL, also do a separate search, limiting to Publication Type > Review.
  • Dissertators are expected to do thorough literature reviews. The lit reviews of some dissertations in history qualify as historiographies. Search for dissertations in Dissertations and Theses Full Text.
  • Some reference sources in the series "Oxford Handbook", "Oxford Bibliographies", "Cambridge Companion", "Blackwell Companions", etc. may include historiographies. Example: The Oxford handbook of environmental history. Search for them in CBBcat including one of the series titles, e.g.
       environment* AND "Oxford Handbook"
  • Search in CBBcat and WorldCat, including the word historiography. You may need to use more general search terms, e.g.
       environment* AND historiography

Find journal articles

Law review articles - for more in-depth legal research

Librarian

Bowdoin College Library
3000 College Station
Brunswick, ME 04011
207-725-3280
Ask Us!
Send Feedback/Report a Problem