Some indexes and databases have a link to “Check Availability at Bowdoin,” showing whether a specific article is available in our Library collection.
Or, use the Journal Titles A-Z section of the Library Gateway to determine whether we own a particular journal in print or electronic format.
If we do not have the journal you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request an article from another library.
Contains abstracts in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics indexed by author and subject.
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas.
Indexed materials in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture from two sources: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, USA and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
Full-text of more than 30 journals, including a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
Combines "Women's Studies International" and "Men's Studies" databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, including professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites and other sources: 1972-Present.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and tools to track, analyze and visualize research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.
570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. Topics including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations: 1985-Present.
Indexes of international scholarly literature in sociology, social work, and related disciplines; includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts. Sourced from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers: 1952-Present.
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender with material dating back to the sixteenth century.
Journals, newsletters and research reports containing information on women in over 190 countries: 1986-Present.
Conference proceedings, reports of international women’s organizations, publications and web pages of women’s non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century: 1840-Present.
Database organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
