South Asia
Main Ref DS331 S6518 2007
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka
Main Ref DS334.9 C36 1989
Historical Atlas of South Asia
Main Ref G2261 S1 H5 1992
Encyclopedia of India
Main Ref DS405 .E556 2006
Historical Dictionary of India
Main Ref DS405 .M27 2006
Cultural Atlas of India
Main Ref DS421 .J6 1996
Encyclopaedia of Indian culture
Main Ref DS423 .S218 1985
Manas: History & Politics of India
South Asian Studies, Princeton University Libraries
"Selected links to South Asia related resources at Princeton University Libraries, and on the World Wide Web."
Section on "Asia, South" in Open and Free Access Materials for Research, School of Advanced Study University of London, Institute for Historical Research.
National Digital Library of India
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) "A rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure."
Digital South Asia Library, University of Chicago and the Center for Research Libraries.
The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy, Yale Law School
Laws, treaties, commentary from all countries; search by keyword or browse by century
Times (London) Archive (1785-1985) Full text newspaper articles.
Periodical Archives Online (1685-2000) Full text journal articles.
The Days of John Company : selections from Calcutta Gazette, 1824-1832
Main Libr DS428 .D39 1959
Nineteenth Century
An online index to our microfiche collection of British books and pamphlets published in the 19th century. Bowdoin owns the 'general collection' only which has a subset of books on British colonization. Microfiche General collection shelved as Fiche 1151
Nineteenth Century [microform]
Main Micro Fiche 1151
The parliamentary debates (Hansard) (U.K.)
Govt Doc J301 .H22
Debates on the floor of Parliament relating to legislation; some will be relevant to India. See British History: Primary Sources - Government.
Statistical abstract relating to British India
From 1840 to 1920.
Indian History Sourcebook
A collection of mostly primary source links.
The Imperial Gazetteer of India
In 26 digitized volumes, published between 1908 and 1931.
The Autobiography of an Unknown Indian (Nirad C. Chaudhuri)
Main Libr DS421 .C47
Growing up in British India: Indian autobiographers on childhood and education under the Raj
Main Libr DS428 .W34 1983
See also the Newspapers & Periodicals tab (this guide).
