Research Guides: "The War to End All Wars": European Society and the First World War, Hist 2106: Newspapers

Newspapers - Historical

See also Historical newspaper holdings at Bowdoin College Library's Special Collections.

English language, published abroad

These databases include at least one English-language newspaper published abroad (in either an English-speaking or a non-English speaking country).

Access World News
Collection of print and digital-only newspapers, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, videos, and other online sources. Includes both national and international papers. Many non-U.S. sources translated into English. Dates of coverage: Varies-Present.
British Library Newspapers
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
Full text.
Google News Archive
Searchable database of scanned newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1700s-Present, depending on newspaper.
Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
Full text coverage of The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).

ProQuest Global Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Searchable by language.
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016
The Daily Telegraph was launched in 1855, and within 10 years was able to claim it had 'the largest circulation in the world', boasting world-famous writers such as George Augustus Sala. For more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom. The Sunday Telegraph was launched as a sister paper in 1961, and The Telegraph Historical Archive provides users with access to both the daily and Sunday editions.
Times (London) Archive, 1785 to 2019
Full text.

Other newspapers

Stars and Stripes Newspaper, WWI Edition, 1918-1919, Via Ancestry Library
"The 'Stars and Stripes' newspaper began during the Civil War. It appeared during World War I and was re-established during World War II by President Roosevelt to boost troop morale. The newspaper was printed specifically for the armed forces and reported on the progress of the war, activities of the U.S. troops, and news from the home front (including sports, comics, and editorials). Different editions of the paper were printed for the different theaters of operation. Most of the editions began as weekly papers and later turned into dailies. By the end of the war, 30 different editions had been published in Europe, North Africa, and Asia."

More newspapers