America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full text of historical American newspapers; search by title or place.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
New York Times Archive, 1851-2009
The Library’s Newspapers research guide lists many other nineteenth and early twentieth century newspapers.
Maine Times, 1968-2002
Main Micro
The Maine Times was an alternative weekly with a focus on the environment, politics and social issues.
Indexing:
Maine Times Cumulative Index, 1968-1973, Main Microform Index
Maine Times Index, 1973-1994, Main Per Index
Maine News Index Online, 1993-2002
The Brunswick Record, 1902-1966
Main Micro
The Brunswick Telegraph, 1853-1903
Main Micro
Lewiston daily evening journal
The Log (BIW)
Sun-Journal (Lewiston)
See also "Full-text Newspapers and Databases" box on this page.
Historic newspaper holdings at Bowdoin College Library's Special Collections
More current and historical newspapers
Use Journals & Newspapers and Compass to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.
Use Journals & Newspapers and Compass to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.
Historic newspaper holdings at Bowdoin College Library's Special Collections
Maine Newspaper Project 1999
Preliminary list of Holdings, February 9, 1998. Includes holdings for Bowdoin College Library.
Maine Newspaper Project, selected links to freely available digital versions of Maine’s historical newspapers
Maine Historical Society newspapers and catalog.
Portland History at the Portland Public Library
"Portland Public Library is the top research and preservation resource for the history of the Greater Portland area." Also very strong in Maine historical newspapers.
Bangor Daily News, 1904,1940-54,1958,1972,1974,1978,1997-present
Main Micro
Bowdoin orient
Main Micro
Portland Press Herald and Sunday Telegram, 1954-
Main Micro
For indexing, consult: Maine News Index Online
The Times Record, 1967- (Brunswick)
Main Micro
See also "Full-text Newspapers and Databases" box on this page.
More current and historical newspapers
Use Journals & Newspapers and Compass to determine whether we have a particular newspaper.
Newspaper indexes provide indexing for newspaper articles, but not the full-text of them.
Index to New England Periodicals, 1977-1982
Main Per
Index to Portland newspapers: 1785-1835
Main Ref F27 .P9 J7
a.k.a. "Jordan Index". Selective index covering:
Falmouth Gazette, 1785-1786
Cumberland Gazette, 1786-1791
Eastern Herald, 1792-1804
Portland Gazette, 1798-1824
Eastern Argus, 1803-1835
Portland Advertiser, 1824-1835
Daily Courier, 1830-1832
Christian Mirror, 1822-1835
Christian Pilot, 1832-1835
Downing Gazette, 1834-1836
Maine Farmer, 1833-1835
Yankee Farmer, 1835
The Jeffersonian, 1833-1834
Independent Statesman, 1821-1825
The Yankee, 1828
Family Reader, 1829-1833
Maine News Index Online
The Maine News Index begins in 1945 and covers 12 Maine newspapers and magazines. Pre-online coverage may be consulted at Portland Public Library.
Maine Times, 1968-2002
Main Micro
The Maine Times was an alternative weekly with a focus on the environment, politics and social issues.
Indexing:
Maine Times Cumulative Index, 1968-1973, Main Microform Index
Maine Times Index, 1973-1994, Main Per Index
Maine News Index Online, 1993-2002
Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers is no longer available. Instead use Digital Archive of Brunswick Newspapers (a.k.a. Community History Archive of Curtis Memorial Library) for the Brunswick Record (1903-1964) and Brunswick Telegraph (1853-1903).
Use these directories of print, microfilm, and online newspapers to find newspapers published in particular location.
Maine Newspaper Project 1999
Preliminary list of Holdings, February 9, 1998. Includes holdings for Bowdoin College Library.
U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present, Library of Congress' Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
US - U.S. newspapers
F - Foreign newspapers
| US | U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present, Library of Congress' Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present." | |
| US | Historical U.S. Newspapers Online, from Bowling Green State University Libraries | |
| US | United States Newspapers, Family Search. | |
| US | Online Digital Newspaper Collections by State. | |
| US | F | Newspapers, Library of Congress |
| US | F | Newspaper digitization projects, International Coalition on Newspapers, Center for Research Libraries. |
| US | F | Wikipedia:List of online newspaper archives. |
| US | F | Newspapers, Broadcast News & Popular Magazines, Brown University |
| US | F | Newspaper Research Links, The Ancestor Hunt, Ken Marks |
