Research Guides: GSWS2715: Sex Wars in the Americas: Home

Primary Sources on Gender and Sexuality

Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender with material dating back to the sixteenth century.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women’s Issues
Journals, newsletters and research reports containing information on women in over 190 countries. Dates of Coverage: 1986-Present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the database contains 105 document projects, about 2,600 publications with 53,000 pages of full-text sources, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, teaching tools, book and web site reviews and news. Dates of Coverage: 1600-2000.
Women and Social Movements International
This digital archive conference proceedings, reports of international women’s organizations, publications and web pages of women’s non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. Dates of Coverage: 1840-Present.
Independent Voices
A digital collection of latter half 20th-century alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
Alternative Press Index
Journal articles from alternative, radical, and left publications from 1969-Present.
Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading womens interest consumer magazines. Coverage starts in the late-19th century.
Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Men's Magazine Archive
0
GQ: Gentlemen's Quarterly Archive
0

Latin American Studies Materials

Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922
More than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere: 1805-1922.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Dates of Coverage: 1808-1980.
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), original literary works, and more published throughout the world about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States: 1970-Present.
Access World News
Current and historical international, national, and regional news.
Ethnic Newswatch
National and regional ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals, updated daily: 1973-Present.
Feminism in Cuba : Nineteenth Through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
This collection of digitized texts is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime.
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath: 1910-1924.

Data Sets and Public Opinion Surveys

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
Datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level: 1935-Present.

Note: You must register using your Bowdoin email address, name, and a password to use this site.
Statista
Integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Sage Data
Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas, with tools for searching, analyzing and visualizing.
Polling the Nations
Surveys conducted by US and international polling organizations, universities, news organizations, and special interest groups: 1986-Present.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Commonly used datasets include General Social Survey, American National Election Study, National Election Study,and U.S. Census. ICPSR contact: Erin Valentino, evalenti@bowdoin.edu.

Your Librarian

Beth Hoppe

she/her

Contact:

H-L Library
110A
ehoppe@bowdoin.edu

207-725-3260

Subjects: Africana Studies, Anthropology, Arctic Studies, English, Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies, Psychology, Sociology

Education Policy

ERIC (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books and reports on education research and practice.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Religion and Conservatism

Political Extremism and Radicalism
Content on far-right and fascist movements alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, providing access material from both sides and points for comparison.
Social Explorer
Current and historical census data and demographic information both national and international. Includes interactive maps 1790 to 2010, US Census 1790-2010, American Community Survey 2005-2015, FBI Uniform Crime Report 2010 to 2015, American election results 1912 to 2016, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980 and 2010), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data (2002), US Business Patterns (2014), and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program data (2010 to 2016). International data resources include the United Kingdom Census (2011), Canadian Census (2011), Eurostat (1990, 2000, 2010 to 2013), World Development Indicators (2013), and Irish religion and population data (1911 and 2001): 1790-Present.

Tips for Effective Searching

When selecting keywords , consider:

What are the most clear and concise terms or short phrases that describe your topic or question.
- Phrases should be limited to two or three words and be placed within quotation marks. This will tell the computer to search for those words together and in that order. Searching for “South America” will find works about South America specifically, while searching for South America will find works that contain the words South and America, but they may appear anywhere in the text and not necessarily together.
When searching for words that may have different endings, such as sexuality you can use an asterisk (*) to include all of the endings. For example if you search for ethnograph* you will see results that contain the words ethnography, ethnographer, ethnographical, etc.
Try different combinations of the terms you choose and consider synonyms and alternate terms
- Combining multiple search terms using AND will give you results that contain BOTH of the specified terms. This can help LIMIT results.
- Combining multiple search terms using OR will find materials that include wither of your terms, but not necessarily both. This can help EXPAND results.
- Combining multiple search terms using NOT will exclude materials that use a specific term. This can help LIMIT results. **Be thoughtful about what you might accidentally exclude!**
Adjust your search based on our results depending on what results you see.