All elements must be documented. Some digital resources have specific instructions for use and attribution. Otherwise do your best to capture the most essential descriptive elements, such as:
In-Text citations for images should be listed as a note and should include descriptive text (see Images tab for more information).
Citing Social & Online Media, Data, Music, and Other Non-Print Materials in Chicago 17th ed.
Academic Citations Evolve to Include Indigenous Oral Teachings
Inclusive Citation: How Diverse Are Your References?
Best practices for using Creative Commons materials
How to Cite Sources & Not Steal People's Content on the Internet
CMOS 17, 14.265 and CM0S 17, 14.267-268 addresses online video and film recordings. Some important information addressed in this section includes:
| Note | 2. Edwin S. Porter, The Great Train Robbery (Thomas A. Edison, 1903), 35 mm film, YouTube video, 11:51, posted by "ella,"December 13, 2011, http://youtu.be/8oTdPklBE0Y. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
Porter, Edwin S. The Great Train Robbery (Thomas A. Edison, 1903), 35 mm film. YouTube video, 11:51. Posted by "ella," December 13, 2011. http://youtu.be/8oTdPklBE0Y. |
Some streaming databases, such as Films on Demand, may provide links for citing materials found in the database. The citation information presented in the database may be incorrect or not as prescribed in CMOS 17. It is strongly suggested that you consult this guide and CMOS 17 for the correct form of citations.
A caution: the videos in the library databases may be broken in segments. When citing the film, you should include the information from the full video in your citation. For more information about indexed segments, see this page under "DVD's....." and CMOS 17, 14.279.
| Note |
7. Two Dollars and A Dream, directed by Stanley Nelson, produced by Stanley Nelson ([New York?]: Filmakers Library, 1989), http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1785149. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
Two Dollars and A Dream. Directed by Stanley Nelson. Produced by Stanley Nelson. [New York?]: Filmakers Library, 1989. . http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1785149. |
| Note |
8. Ernest & Celestine, directed by Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar (New York: GKIDS Films, 2012), https://bowdoin.kanopy.com/video/ernest-celestine. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
Ernest & Celestine. Directed by Stéphane Aubier, Vincent Patar. New York: GKIDS Films, 2012 .https://bowdoin.kanopy.com/video/ernest-celestine. |
Credit: IG @standup.trex
Image Description: Illustration of a green T.Rex holding a microphone in front of a red curtain with a black speech bubble: Panel 1 - "Too many authors to cite?" Panel 2 - "No problem et al" Panel 3 - Illustration of 3 other dinosaurs sitting at tables with drinks watching with wide eyes, appearing lost or unamused. Panel 4 - Close-up illustration of green T.Rex with large tear-filled eyes.
If images and works of art are found through a Google or other image search resource, the citation information should be taken from the original source, not Google, Yahoo, etc.
| Note |
Bowdoin College. [Graphic of Bowdoin Polar Bear], [n.d.], B&W image, Bowdoin College Polar Bears, http://athletics.bowdoin.edu/landing/index.
|
| Bibliographic Entry |
Bowdoin College. [Graphic of Bowdoin Polar Bear]. [n.d.] B&W image. Bowdoin College Polar Bears. http://athletics.bowdoin.edu/landing/index. |
When citing recordings found online or in a databases, use as many of the same elements as you would when citing physical recording, but omit the format and add a DOI or URL.
| Note | 17. Franz Schubert, Complete Chamber Music for PIano and Strings, with Arion Trio, and others, BIS BIS-CD-521-24, [1988?], http://bowdoin.naxosmusiclibrary.com/catalogue/item.asp?cid=BIS-CD-521-24. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
Schubert, Franz. Complete Chamber Music for Piano and Strings. Arion Trio, and others. BIS BIS-CD-521-24, 1988?]. http://bowdoin.naxosmusiclibrary.com/catalogue/item.asp?cid=BIS-CD-521-24. |
Citations for publicly available content shared via social should follow the guidelines stated in CMOS 17 14.209. Private content should be handled as personal communication (see CMOS 17 14.214). "Because social media content to subject to editing and deletion, authors are advised to retain a copy of anything they cite."
| Note |
17. Bowdoin College, "Sixteen people on campus who previously had long, naturally colored hair have sporty new cuts in time for summer," Facebook, April 29, 2018, https://www.facebook.com/Bowdoin/videos/10156297907423194/. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
Bowdoin College. "Sixteen people on campus who previously had long, naturally colored hair have sporty new cuts in time for summer." Facebook, April 29, 2018. https://www.facebook.com/Bowdoin/videos/10156297907423194/. |
| Note |
57. Conan O’Brien (@ConanOBrien), “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets,” Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m., https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
O'Brien, Conan (@ConanOBrien). “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets.” Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m. https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448. |
Comments may also be cited in reference to the related post, in a shortened form if fully cited elsewhere (see CMOS, 14.29-36)
| Note |
26. Michele Truty, “We do need a gender-neutral pronoun,” April 17, 2015, comment on Chicago Manual of Style, “singular they,” https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/ 10152906193679151? comment_id=10152906356479151. |
| Bibliographic Entry |
Truty, Michele. “We do need a gender-neutral pronoun.” April 17, 2015, comment on Chicago Manual of Style, “singular they.” https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/ 10152906193679151? comment_id=10152906356479151. |
