... for use in comparing state laws. Many of the databases listed in the "State Bills" box (this page) also include state laws.
Subject Compilations of State Laws, 1960-present, via HeinOnline >
Browse Databases by Name > "Subject Compilations of State Laws" (online).
"This bibliography identifies and describes fifty-state law surveys on hundreds of subjects published in hundreds of sources."
This is much more detailed than National Survey of State Laws. Best Bet
National Survey of State Laws, 1993-present, via HeinOnline >
Browse Databases by Name > "National Survey of State Laws" (online).
"Provides an overall view of some of the most frequently sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States," including
citations to the state laws. This is much less detailed than Subject Compilations of State Laws. Best Bet
Nexis Uni. Choose: Menu > All sources > Search within sources > enter: "50 State Surveys" > [click on 3 dots] > Add to search. Best Bet
State Law Index, an index to the legislation of the states of the United States, Library of Congress, 1925-1948
Some CRS Reports include a survey of state laws.
The Office of Legislative Research, Connecticut General Assembly, has prepared some surveys of state laws.
| Years | Format | Location | Indexing/Notes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maine Revised Statutes Annotated (current laws in force) | current edition | online | Maine Revised Statutes | Statute Search |
| Maine Revised Statutes (current laws in force) | 1840-1964 | online | Maine State Legislature | |
| 1991-present | online | Nexis Uni | Choose Menu > All Sources > Search Within Sources > Maine Revised Statutes. | |
| current edition | Main Ref KFM30 1964 .A213 | |||
| current edition | online | Westlaw | Choose: State Materials > (state) > (state) Statutes & Court Rules. | |
| Session Laws, Laws of Maine | 1820- | online | Maine Public Laws (PL), Private and Special Laws (PS), and Resolves (RES) | by year and chapter number |
| 1820- | online | HeinOnline > Session Laws Library. | "This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception." | |
| 1842- | Maine L 38.22: | |||
| 1996- | online | Session Laws | ||
| 2009- | online | Published Session Laws and Other Materials | ||
| Maine Advance Legislative Service | 1989- | online | Nexis Uni | Choose Menu > All Sources > Search Within Sources > Maine Advance Legislative Service. |
| superseded state statutes | earliest to present | online | HeinOnline > State Statutes: A Historical Archive | "A Historical Archive includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. This database provides an avenue to understand the creation of historical statutes and includes coverage back until 1717." |
| Format | Location | |
|---|---|---|
| All states (current laws in force) | online | HeinOnline > Session Laws Library. "This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception." Best Bet |
| Westlaw. Choose: State Materials > (state) > (state) Statutes & Court Rules | ||
| Nexis Uni. Choose one of the following: Menu > All Sources > (search on) Advance Legislative Service ... OR ... Menu > All Sources > (search on) Statutes |
||
| FindLaw | ||
| Legal Information Institute (Cornell) | ||
| All states, historical laws | online | HeinOnline > Session Laws Library. "This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception." Best Bet |
| HeinOnline State Statutes: A Historical Archive. "A Historical Archive includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. This database provides an avenue to understand the creation of historical statutes and includes coverage back until 1717." Best Bet | ||
| Westlaw. Choose All Content > Statutes & Court Rules > Historical Statutes | ||
| Nexis Uni. Choose one of the following: Menu > All Sources > (search on) Advance Legislative Service ... OR ... Menu > All Sources > (search on) Statutes |
