Biology: Indexes & Databases

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1970-Present.

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Dates of Coverage: NA.

Scholarly journal articles and book chapters across the sciences.

Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical science...thousands of current biomedical journals. Dates of Coverage: 1966-Present.

Includes journals relating to the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Dates of Coverage: 2000-Present.

Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating as far back as 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more. Dates of Coverage: 1984-Present.

Full-text database for peer-reviewed journals, books, protocols, and reference works published by Springer and its subsidiaries. While strongest in the sciences, SpringerLink also contains a wide range of interdisciplinary content in the social sciences and humanities. Dates of Coverage: NA.

Aquatic sciences and related fields. Includes serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. Dates of coverage: 1960-Present

"Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific litearture, and related materials""More than a million specimens are available today. Links to over 175,000 scientific research articles and other content dating back hundreds of years...Foundational reference works and books such as The Usefull Plants of West Tropical Africa, Flowering Plants of South Africa, and illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine...More than 20,000 paintings, photographs, drawings and other images. Dates of Coverage: NA.

Comprehensive information on birds such as behavior, habitat, range maps, images, and more. It brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World.

The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.). Dates of Coverage: 1940-Present.