Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-century Philosophers / edited by Stuart Brown, Diane Collinson, Robert Wilkinson London ; New York : Routledge, 1996
In addition to biographies, each entry lists the philosopher's primary works and offers suggestions for further reading.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy / general editor, Robert Audi
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1995
Also in print: Main Ref B41 .C35 1995
Bills itself as the most comprehensive one volume dictionary of philosophy. Surveys Western and non-Western ideas and provides biographical information for major and minor philosophers.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Logic
Roy T. Cook. Edinburgh U Press. 2009.
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
Martin Cohen. Hodder Arnold, 2006.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z
Nancy Arden McHugh. Edinburgh U Press, 2007.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Charles Scribner & Sons, 2005.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Philosophy of Science A-Z
Stathis Psillos. Edinburgh U Press. 2007.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy / edited by Brian Carr and Indira Mahalingam
London ; New York : Routledge, 1997
Also in print: Main Ref B121 .C66 1997
The organization is by type of philosophy. There are a number of essays for each philosophy that discuss historical and modern interpretations as well as the moral structure.
Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Continental Philosophy.
Edited by Simon Glendinning. Edinburgh U Press, 1999.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy / edited by Donald J. Zeyl ; editors, Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip K. Mitsis
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997
Also in print: Main Ref B163 .E53 1997
Two hundred and seventy entries address topics and individuals in Greek and Roman antiquity.
Encyclopedia of Consciousness
Edited by William Banks. Elsevier 2009.
Encyclopedia of Global Justice
Editors Deen K. Chatterjee. Springer, 2011.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism Presents the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its essays are original works written by the world’s foremost scholars on Hinduism.
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies / Ram Shankar Bhattacharya ... [et al.] [Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1977-
Main Lib B131 .E5 v.1-6
Each volume covers a specific time period of Indian philosophical thought.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy / Edited by Henrik Lagerlund. Springer, 2011.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy / general editor,
Detroit: Macmillan, 2006. 2nd ed.
Medieval philosophers / edited by Jeremiah Hackett.
Detroit : Gale Research, 1992.
Main B721 .M45 1992
The essays provide insight on world events and cultural trends influencing thought in the middle ages. Principle works are discussed and placed in context of the philosopher's life.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy / general editor, Edward Craig
London ; New York : Routledge, 1998
Main Ref B51 .R68 1998 v.1-10
The entries provide information on people, ideas and moral questions. The final volume consists of a detailed index.
Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy
"From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.".
World philosophy : essay-reviews of 225 major works / edited by Frank N. Magill ; associate editor, Ian P. McGreal
Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Salem Press, c1982
Main Ref B29 .W68 1982 v.1-5
Works from the sixth century B.C. to the twentieth century are summarized and related literature is reviewed
Bioethics / Bruce Jennings, editor in chief. 2014. Updated version of the Encyclopedia of Bioethics.
Encyclopedia of Global Justice
Editors Deen K. Chatterjee. Springer, 2011.
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
Martin Cohen. Hodder Arnold, 2006.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics/ edited by Hugh LaFollette. Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory
Handbooks and Companions
Cambridge University Press has digitized its Cambridge Companions series. Search the site for those related to philosophy.
Oxford University Press has digitized its excellent handbook series. Here are some related to philosophy. Go to the Oxford Handbooks Online site for even more.
Oxford Handbook of American Philosophy
Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Philosophy
Oxford Handbook of Epistemology
Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory
Oxford Handbook of Medieval Philosophy
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Neuroscience
The Oxford handbook of Philosophy of Cognitive Science
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Criminal Law
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Emotion
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mind
Oxford Handbook of Philosophical Theology
Oxford Handbook of Political Philosophy
Oxford Handbook of Presocratic Philosophy
Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics
A dictionary of philosophical quotations / edited by A.J. Ayer and Jane O'Grady Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, MA, USA : Blackwell Publishers, 1994
Main Ref B21 .D54 1994
This work spans classical times through the twentieth century and has a western philosophical emphasis.
