Theatre and drama WWW Virtual Library
http://vl-theatre.com/
A major feature of this site is its listing of plays online arranged by author with complete texts in English, French, German, Greek, Italian and Spanish.
American Variety Stage
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/vshtml/vshome.html
"The collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, thatthrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English and Yiddish language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures..."
Playbill Online
http://www.playbill.com/index.php
Find current Broadway, off-Broadway, regional, and London Theatre information on this Playbill web site. Also includes ticket information and current theater news.
Internet Broadway Database
http://www.ibdb.com
"...the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics."
Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
http://www.dramatists.com/
"Dramatists Play Service has published new plays since 1936 and is now one of the preeminenttheatrical licensing agencies..."
The Lortel Archives, also known as www.IOBDB.com (Internet Off-Broadway Database)
http://www.lortel.org/LLA_archive/
A catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.
Theater Mirror
http://www.theatermirror.com
Theater Mirror is New England's live theater guide with extensive coverage of the Boston area. Lists jobs and auditions.
Shakespeare
http://www-tech.mit.edu/shakespeare/works.html
Complete works of Shakespeare from MIT.
Playwriting/Playwrights
Essays on the Craft of Dramatic Writing!
http://www.storyispromise.com/
Offers a number of essays on the craft of dramatic writing. It offers step by step instruction in how to write dramatic stories from many perspectives that include screenwriting and playwriting.
The Costume Site
http://milieux.com/costume/
Excellent source for all types of costumes including historical fashions, patterns and masks.
The Costumer's Manifesto
https://costumes.org
Contains many images and a timeline of the history of costumes beginning with ancient Babylon and continuing through the late twentieth century.
Aisle Say
http://www.aislesay.com/
This excellent theater review source covers productions from New York City to San Francisco and is updated weekly.
The Obie Awards
http://www.villagevoice.com/obies/
This Village Voice site contains the winners of the Obie Awards for the past 40 years.
NYPL Theatre Collection
The Billy Rose Theatre Collection of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.
https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/divisions/billy-rose-theatre-division
The Development of Scenic Spectacle
http://www1.appstate.edu/orgs/spectacle/index.html
Technical and historical information on sets for sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth century theater.
