Some indexes and databases have a link to “Check Availability at Bowdoin,” showing whether a specific article is available in our Library collection. Or, use the Journal Titles A-Z section of the Library Gateway to determine whether we own a particular journal in print or electronic format. If we do not have the journal you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request an article from another library.
“Scholarly” vs. “Popular” Journals
Scholarly articles are written by experts in a field and are typically directed at their peers. The articles contain reports of original research and in-depth analysis of topics. Scholarly articles may also be referred to as "peer-reviewed" or "refereed." These articles are submitted to a panel of experts, or peers, who review the content for standards established by the respective field. Examples include: American Ethnologist and The Journal of World Prehistory.
Popular and newsstand articles generally are shorter in length, sometimes are not signed, do not contain footnotes or a bibliography, and are targeted at the general population. Examples include Time and Newsweek.
Indexed materials in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture from two sources: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, USA and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, UK.
Full-text of more than 30 journals, including a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
Broad coverage of international material, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year: 1951-Present.
Contains abstracts in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics indexed by author and subject.
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas.
A highly selective digital library of academic content that includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and tools to track, analyze and visualize research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews: 1907-1984.
Searchable image collection of 380,000 images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Repository of 1.5 million digital images and related data supporting interdisciplinary studies with special emphasis on collections of art, architecture and archeology.
