Research Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Indexes & Databases

Indexes & Databases

Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
Multidisciplinary database focusing on the environmental sciences. Indexes over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Topics covered include: Agricultural biotechnology, Energy resources, Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive, Risk assessment and Safety Science.
General Science Abstracts
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain. Includes articles, reviews, biographical sketches, and letters to the editor.

GeoScienceWorld
A comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geosciences, consisting of full text peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
ICPSR
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations. Includes Statistical Abstract.

OECD.Stat
Statistics for OECD member countries and selected non-members. Subjects covered include: agriculture; environment; education, development; finance; health; labor, national accounts; science, demography.
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a compilation of surveys conducted by over 1000 polling organizations in the United States and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present time. The pollsters included in the database are: US polling organizations (e.g., Harris International, The Pew Center); universities (e.g., Rice University, University of Maryland); newspapers (e.g., New York Times, Los Angeles Times); Television news organizations (e.g., CBS, NBS, Fox, CNN); international polling organizations & more

Roper Center
The Roper Center archives datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. These datasets are listed in the Catalog of Holdings. Online access to many datasets are provided through the Roper Express service. US nationwide public opinion polls since 1935 are available through the iPoll service. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level.

ScienceDirect
Full text access to scholarly journals in the sciences, technical, and medical fields.
Social Explorer
Entire US census data from 1790 - ; the American Community Survey (ACS) through the most current release; and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS). The RCMS is the most complete census available on religion in the U.S. Social Explorer creates thematic and interactive maps down to the street level where and when possible, and reports at all geographic levels where data exist including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, census places and other.