Scholarly and professional journals/magazines may provide some historical information and perspectives on the education policies and issues of your state. The articles found in the databases and articles on this page may not reflect current policies, issues, guidelines, and procedures.
Examples of journals/magazines that may include current information include:
Education Week
EdWeek.org
Chronicle of Higher Education
Phi Delta Kappan
Rethinking Schools
Newspapers and local news sources will often include articles concerning the most current education issues.
Academic Search Complete
Includes scholarly, professional and general interest articles in Education, among other disciplines.
ERIC (Ebsco) or ERIC (Proquest)
Different user interfaces, but same information; includes articles from professional and scholarly journals, unpublished education articles, reports and case studies.
Education Database
Indexes the scholarly and professional literature of education.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Focuses on indexing journals, government documents and institution reports related to public policy.
Many databases provide journal articles in full text, but some provide only "citations"-- information identifying the article.
Within most library databases you can access the full text of articles by clicking the "check availability" or "Find It @ Bowdoin" link.
You can also select "Journal A-Z" on the Library Homepage under the search box. Enter the name of the journal or source (not the article title) then click search.
If the article if at not available at Bowdoin or you are asked to pay for an article online, you may be able to get a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan or through one of our many databases.
If you found the article in one of our indexes or databases:
If you found the article through the web,
More information about Borrowing from Other Libraries.
