Research Guides: GSWS 2345 Carnival and Control: Books, Statistics, and more

Quick Reference Search

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas. Great starting point for searching secondary sources.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Dates of Coverage: 1991-Present.
Gender Studies Database
Combines "Women's Studies International" and "Men's Studies" databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender scholarship and includes several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites and other sources. Dates of Coverage: 1972-Present.
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Over 60,000 links to the full text of articles. Dates of Coverage: 1970-Present.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more...provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Dates of Coverage: 1450-Present.

Data and Statistics

CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) The agency responsible for official collection of statistical, geographic, cartographic, geodetic and environmental information inBrazil.

IMF Macroeconomic and Financial Data International Monetary Fund statistics. Includes Trade, Government, Labor, and more.

World Bank Datasets World Bank Development Indicators, browsable by topic and country.

UN Data United Nations Country level statistics