Research Guides: Comparative Government: Journal articles

Journal articles

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. Dates of Coverage: 1920-Present.
PAIS Index
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1915-Present.

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and newspapers in almost all subject areas. Great starting point for searching secondary sources.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Note: If you receive an error message while using JSTOR, please try clearing all JSTOR cache and cookies and searching again. While accessing it from off campus, you may also find that JSTOR works better in a private or incognito window, or over Bowdoin's VPN.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Dates of Coverage: NA.

Anthropology Plus
"Anthropology Plus brings together Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies." Dates of coverage: Late 19th Century - Present
AnthroSource
AnthroSource, produced by the American Anthropological Association in partnership with University of California Press, contains the full text of more than 30 journals, including: A complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003, Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist, and current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
Social Science Database
570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. Topics including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations. Dates of Coverage: 1985-Present.

EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
From the American Economic Association. The database indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews with links to full text when available. JEL Classification System / EconLit Subject Descriptors can be used in Subject searching. More than 1.1 million records. Dates of Coverage: 1886-Present.

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more...provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Dates of Coverage: 1450-Present.
America: History and Life
Citations for journal articles, books, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Environment Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, marine and freshwater resources, and urban planning. Contains 2.5 million records from over 2,350 domestic and international titles. 930 journals are full text. Dates of Coverage: 1988-Present.