Find materials in medicine in Compass (books, film, etc.) and PubMed (scholarly articles).
Casey, Frances E. "Induced Abortion." Merck Manual. February 2022.
Kapp, Nathalie and Patricia A. Lohr. "Modern Methods to Induce Abortion: Safety, Efficacy and Choice." Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology 63 (2020): 37-44. PubMed.
Find materials in Philosophy and Religion in Compass (books, film, etc.), Philosopher's Index (scholarly articles), and ATLA Religion Index (scholarly articles), Academic Search Complete (popular and scholar articles).
Alvaré, Helen. "Constitutional Abortion and Culture." Christian Bioethics 19, no. 2 (August 2013): 133-49.
Williams, Daniel K. Defenders of the Unborn: The Pro-Life Movement before Roe v. Wade. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.
Bowdoin Main Libr HQ767.5.U5 W556 2016.
Find materials in GSWS and intersectionality in Compass (books, film, etc.), Gender Studies Database, and Sociological Abstracts (scholarly articles).
I Had an Abortion. Women Make Movies, 2005. Kanopy Streaming, 2019. Compass.
Krook, Mona Lena and Sarah Childs, eds. Women, Gender, and Politics: A Reader. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
Bowdoin Main Libr HQ1236 .W637725 2010.
McDonagh, Eileen L. Breaking the Abortion Deadlock: From Choice to Consent. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
Bowdoin Main Libr HQ767.5.U5 M373 1997.
Price, Kimala. "What is Reproductive Justice?: How Women of Color Activists are Redefining the Pro-Choice Paradigm: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism." Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism 19 (2020): 340-362. Sociological Abstracts.
Reagan, Leslie J. When Abortion was a Crime: Women, Medicine, and Law in the United States, 1867-1973. Oakland: University of California Press, 2022.
Bowdoin Main Libr HQ767.5.U6 R378 2022.
Roberts, Dorothy. Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction, and the Meaning of Liberty. New York: Pantheon Books, 1997.
Bowdoin Main Libr HQ766.5.U5 R58 1997.
Sanger, Carol. About Abortion: Terminating Pregnancy in Twenty-First-Century America. Cambridge, Massachusetts: The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2017.
Bowdoin Main Libr HQ767.15 .S26 2017.
Find materials in Political Science in Compass (books, film, etc.) and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (scholarly articles).
Clayton, Amanda, Diana Z. O'Brien, and Jennifer M. Piscopo. "All Male Panels? Representation and Democratic Legitimacy." American Journal of Political Science 63, no. 1 (January 2019): 113-129.
Find materials in Law in Compass (books, film, etc.), HeinOnline (Supreme Court decisions, scholarly articles), and Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (scholarly articles).
"Abortion" and "Substantive Due Process." Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, edited by Michael J. Tyrkus and Carol A. Schwartz. 4th ed. Gale, 2022.
"Abortion." Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation.
Greenhouse, Linda. Before Roe v. Wade: Voices that Shaped the Abortion Debate before the Supreme Court's Ruling. New Haven, CT: Yale Law School, 2012.
Bowdoin Main Libr KF3771 .G74 2012.
Kalmanson, Melanie, and Riley Erin Fredrick. "The Viability of Change: Finding Abortion in Equality After Obergefell." New York University Journal of Legislation & Public Policy 22, no. 3 (April 2020): 647-91. HeinOnline.
Wurman, Ilan. The Second Founding: An Introduction to the Fourteenth Amendment. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2020. Compass.
Dred Scott v. Sandford, 60 United States Reports 393 (1857). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:60.
Skinner v. State of Okl. ex rel. Williamson, 316 United States Reports 535 (1942). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:316.
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 United States Reports 479 (1965). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:381.
Loving v. Virginia, 388 United States Reports 1 (1967). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:388.
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 United States Reports 438 (1972). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:405.
Roe v. Wade, 410 United States Reports 113 (1973). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:410.
Doe v. Bolton, 410 United States Reports 179 (1973). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:410.
Planned Parenthood of Se. Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 United States Reports 833 (1992). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:505.
Lawrence v. Texas, 539 United States Reports 558 (2003). Bowdoin Govt Doc JU 6.8:539.
Obergefell v. Hodges, 576 United States Reports 644 (2015).
Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Org., 597 United States Reports __ (2022).
Drop in research help at the Research Help Desk in HL or in our offices in the Research Lab in HL or in Hatch.
Find a variety of perspectives in books (Compass), scholarly journal articles or popular magazine articles (Academic Search Complete), newspaper articles (ProQuest Global Newsstream and other newspaper databases), and in databases such as OpinionArchives.
Greasley, Kate. Abortion Rights: For and Against. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Bowdoin Main Libr K5181 .G725 2018.
Find newspaper articles in databases such as ProQuest Global Newsstream and other newspaper databases.
"The Dobbs v. Jackson Decision, Annotated." The New York Times, June 24, 2022. ProQuest Global Newsstream.
Sullivan, Becky and Juliana Kim. "These 3 Supreme Court Decisions Could be at Risk after Roe v. Wade Was Overturned." NPR. Updated June 24, 2022.
Find polls and statistics in Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (polls) and in Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2022). Abortions Reported and Rates by Age: 2010 to 2019 [Selected Years]. ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 2022 Online Edition.
Schar School of Policy and Government, George Mason University/Washington Post, Washington Post-Schar School Poll, Question 7, 31119734.00006, SSRS. Cornell University, Ithaca, NY: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, 2022. Roper Center Public Opinion Archives.
