♦Comtrade, United Nations, "a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables".
♦World Integrated Trade Solution, WorldBank. "WITS TradeStat Database is designed with the purpose of providing the latest international merchandise and commercial services trade data and overview of country and region's imports and exports, tariff and non-tariff measures."About.
♦Commodity Prices, World Bank data presented by Sage Data (used to be Data Planet) "presents monthly and annual international averages for commodities prices and indices." Follow the breadcrumbs: Databases > Sage Data > Browse data by source > World Bank > Global Economic Monitor > Commodity Prices [archive]
Commodity Markets, World Bank. For commodity prices, use "Pink Sheet" Data.
General country background.Databases > ♦Europa World (online). Provides political and economic information about countries of the world.
The following sections are relevant:
Recent History
Country Profile > Contemporary Political History > Historical Context
Country statistics > External trade
For 1963-2006 (with gaps), use: The Europa year book; Bowdoin Main Ref JN1 .E85, Bowdoin Main Ref JN1 .E852.
Scholarly materials
♦Compass. Provides Bowdoin Library's most comprehensive (but not 100%) access to resources in all formats.
Databases > ♦Academic Search Complete. Multi-disciplinary, a mix of scholarly and popular articles.
Databases > ♦JSTOR. Multi-disciplinary; scholarly; great for older articles, but typically not for articles published within the past 2-5 years.
Databases > ProQuest One Business Combines the broad journal coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty business resources. It includes industry reports, country reports, company data (annual reports, profiles, SWOTs), market research, and analyses.
Citing sources.Use "Citing Sources" in "See Also" box to left.
Other quantitative information.Databases > ♦World Development Indicators. "The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates."
♦Freedom House.
"Freedom in the World, Freedom House’s flagship publication, is the standard-setting comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties. Published annually since 1972, the survey ratings and narrative reports on 195 countries and 14 related and disputed territories are used by policymakers, the media, international corporations, civic activists, and human rights defenders to monitor trends in democracy and track improvements and setbacks in freedom worldwide."
♦Polity IV Individual Country Regime Trends, 1946-2013. "Annual Polity scores have been plotted for each of the 167 countries currently covered by the Polity IV data series for the period 1946-2013 (trend graphs are also included with the Polity IV 2010 Country Reports). This version of the Polity Country Trend graphs display periods of "factionalism" and important Polity change events, including autocratic backsliding, executive auto-coup or autogolpe, revolution, collapse of central authority (state failure), and successful military coups."
