Dictionary Of American History
Main Ref E174 .D52 2003
Multi-volume set with extensive entries on events, movements, people, and other topics in American history. Articles contain bibliographies.
Reader's Companion To American History
Main Ref E174 .R43 1991
Encyclopedia Of The United States In The Nineteenth Century
Main Ref E169.1 .E626 2001
The Encyclopedia Of American Facts And Dates
Main Ref E174.5 .C3 1993
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Main Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Three-volume, specialized encyclopedia of lengthy scholarly signed articles with bibliographies on social and cultural topics in American history.
Encyclopedia of American social movements
Main Ref HN57 .E594 2004
To find bibliographies, search the Compass, MaineCat, and/or WorldCat using search terms pertaining to your topic and bibliography.
Dissertations and Theses
A dissertation on (or near) your topic may include a bibliography of core primary and secondary materials.
Historical Statistics of the United States.
Comprehensive, searchable collection of statistics, including 37,000+ data sets that can be downloaded. A historical supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States. A great place to start looking for data. Footnotes to tables lead you to more detailed or more current data. The introduction to each section provides a helpful summary of major sources. Previous editions are available from the Census Bureau, HathiTrust, and elsewhere online and in print.
Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Formerly published by the U.S. Census Bureau. "Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." A great place to start looking for data. Even if the data that you want are not there, look at the footnotes for relevant tables and the introduction to the relevant section for pointers to more comprehensive sources. Previous editions, 1878-, are also available.
