Research Guides: Living in a Material World: Thinking and Writing with Art and Architecture, ARTH 1022: Start Here

Ask Me!

Erin Valentino

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Room 111-D in H-L

207-725-3749

Subjects: Art History, Visual Arts

Introduction

Welcome to the "Living in a Material World" research guide! Here you'll find many resources to support your research--encyclopedias, book and article databases, and more.

In addition, I am available as the Art Librarian to help you with your research! Here are some of the things that might mean:

refining your research question
establishing what the best information sources are for your research
identifying effective search terms
learning what various search tools can do, and how they work
exploring different kinds of information and if they benefit your research
getting access to specific materials you have trouble locating
understanding your rights and responsibilities regarding your use and creation of knowledge

No question is too big or too small! Please make an appointment with me using the link in my bio--I look forward to working with you!

Art Historical Context

Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art Online)
Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online. Dates of Coverage: NA.
Oxford Classical Dictionary - 3rd ed.
An electronic version of the Oxford Classical Dictionary, third edition. Topics covered include: literature; art; philosophy; law; mythology; science; daily life; broad cultural and historical trends.
Oxford Classical Dictionary - 4th ed.
An electronic version of the Oxford Classical Dictionary, fourth edition. Topics covered include: literature; art; philosophy; law; mythology; science; daily life; broad cultural and historical trends.

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art / James Hall
"[C]oncise, readable entries on most Christian and pagan symbols or subjects from antiquity to the Renaissance"--publisher description.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Essays on Islamic Art.

Reference Collections

Credo Reference
Over 600 reference titles combined into one, cross-referenced resource. It encompasses a wide variety of subjects such as art, health, literature, and politics. In addition to articles, Credo contains high-quality, searchable photographs, fine art, scientific diagrams, and other types of images. Over 76,000 audio pronunciation files also are included. New titles are added each year. Dates of Coverage: -Present.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference contains the full-text of selected language and subject reference books. Combined into a single, cross-searchable database, these sources provide definitions, facts, figures, quotations, dates, and other brief information from subjects in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The database is updated several times a year with new titles and new editions. Dates of Coverage: NA.