Argument Transcripts, Supreme Court, 1968-present
The Complete oral arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States
Govt Micro, 1982-ca. 2019
Oyez Project
"the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955".
Argument Audio, Supreme Court, 2010-present.
Court Listener, Free Law Project.
"We collect oral argument audio from the Supreme Court and all of the Federal Circuit courts that provide it." Includes Supreme Court recordings, 2013-.
Sound Recordings of Oral Arguments - Red Series, December 1972–June 27, 2005, National Archives and Records Administration.
Compass by default will search almost everything the library has. You can use filters in the drop-down menu to search more specifically for books (in CBB libraries) or articles.
On the library home page click Databases, below the Compass search box. On the Database page, choose a subject from the Subjects drop down to find databases most useful for finding materials in that subject area.
You can combine subjects to narrow down your results.
As a Bowdoin student, you have subscriptions to the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. You can set up those subscriptions here:
Law cases are not cataloged individually in the Library's catalog. They are traditionally published together in sets of paper volumes called law reporters, and now, in online databases as well. The traditional legal citation is used in both print and electronic collections to identify individual cases but is based on the print reporter system. In addition, to locate an individual case in a print law reporter, you need to know the case's citation. While legal citation is no longer essential for finding case law online, it is the most precise and efficient identifer for a specific case.
Example citations using Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.:
Entry in bibliography:
Wallace v. Jaffree. 472 U.S. 38 (1985).
Footnote or endnote:
13. Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 41-42 (1985).
In the examples above, Wallace v. Jaffree is the name of the case, 472 is the volume number, U.S. is the abbreviation for the law reporter (United States Reports), 38 is the page number on which the opinion begins, and 1985 is the year of the decision. In the note, the page numbers being referred to in the note are also provided, in this example, pages 41-42.
A court opinion may also be published in a commercial reporter. In the partial citation "86 L. Ed. 2d 29", 86 is the volume, L. Ed. 2d is the abbreviation for the law reporter (United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition 2nd Series) and 29 is the page number within Vol. 86 on which the decision begins. If you use a commercial reporter, it is advised that you cite both that commercial reporter and the official reporter; the official reporter comes first in the citation:
Entry in bibliography:
Wallace v. Jaffree. 472 U.S. 38, 86 L. Ed. 2d 29 (1985).
Go to Federal Court Citation Examples for a more detailed discussion.
Library of Congress Classification (LCC) Outline from the Library of Congress
