Full-text subscription database of case law, law reviews, and news.
- U.S. law review articles
- Choose All content > Secondary Sources > Law Reviews & Journals.
- Alternatively, from a results list, if available, choose Secondary Sources > Law Reviews & Journals.
- U.S. court opinions
- Choose All content > Cases. To find particular court opinion by its citation, use the search box in the basic search.
- For more options, choose All content > Cases > Advanced Search.
- U.S. Supreme Court briefs and other filings. (Selective coverage; many filings are "out of plan".)
- Find a decision of interest; choose Filings tab.
- Alternatively, choose All content > Briefs > Briefs, then search for the briefs of interest.
- U.S. Code
- Choose Federal Materials > United States Code Annotated (USCA).
- U.S. public laws
- Choose Federal Materials > Federal Proposed & Enacted Legislation > U.S. Public Laws.
- Historical state laws
- Choose All Content > Statutes & Court Rules > Historical Statutes.
- Foreign or international court opinions or law review articles
- Choose All content > International Materials.
- To find other materials that cite a court opinion, law, law review article, etc. that is displayed in the database
- Click on the "Citing References" tab and limit as needed.
- Black's Law Dictionary is under All content > Secondary Sources and in the right column.
Help: "Campus Help Guide" [i.e. "Introduction to legal research on Westlaw Next"] is linked to at the bottom of every Westlaw webpage. Other guides, including Searching with Boolean Terms and Connectors are also available.
Full-text subscription database of federal and state court opinions, statutes, law review articles, news, and more.
- Law review articles.
- Click on the "Law Reviews" button.
- Court opinions.
- Choose: Advanced Search > Legal > Cases > (choose jurisdiction).
- Court opinions and law review articles that cite an opinion of interest.
- For other opinions citing a chosen decision, choose, at the right: either "Citing Decisions" or "Shepardize® this document".
- For law review articles citing a chosen decision, choose, at the right: "Other Citing Sources", then narrow to "Law Reviews".
- U.S. Supreme Court briefs and other filings
- If you have a docket number, choose: Advanced Search > Legal > Briefs, Pleadings, and Motions > Briefs; enter the docket number as in the following search: number("15-827"); then limit to the court.
- If you don't have a docket number, choose: Advanced Search > Legal > Briefs, Pleadings, and Motions > Briefs; enter a very general search for unusual names in the parties as in the following search: name(endrew AND douglas); then limit to the court.
- Alternatively, choose: Advanced Search > Legal > Briefs, Pleadings, and Motions > Briefs. Do the search, then limit to the court.
- U.S. Code.
- To find by citation, choose: Advanced Search > Legal > Statutes and Legislation > US Statutory Codes > Citation > [enter a citation to United States Code Service, e.g. 50 USCS 3002].
- To search the U.S. Code, choose Advanced Search > Legal > Statutes and Legislation > US Statutory Codes > [search] > limit to Sources > USCS - United States Code Service.
- Alternatively, to search the U.S. Code, choose: Menu > All Sources > Search Within Sources > "USCS - United States Code Service - Titles 1 through 54" > [drop down menu next to "USCS - United States Code Service - Titles 1 through 54"] > "Add source as a search filter".
- United States Statutes at Large.
- Choose: Advanced Search > Legal > Statutes and Legislation > US Public Laws/ALS > [search] > limit to Jurisdiction > U.S. Federal and limit to Sources > United States Statutes at Large.
- Alternatively, choose: Menu > All Sources > Search Within Sources > United States Statutes at Large > [drop down menu next to United States Statutes at Large] > "Add source as a search filter".
Help (at the top right of the search screen) or Top 10 Nexis Uni™ Features to Explore.
- Law review articles.
- From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "Law Journal Library". Coverage from the first issue of "more than 2300 law and law-related periodicals". Our strongest database for foreign law reviews.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
- From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)".
- Supreme Court opinions.
- From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "U.S. Supreme Court Library".
- U.S. Code.
- From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "U.S. Code".
- United States Statutes at Large.
- From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "U.S. Statutes at Large".
Help: Support resources, including Advanced Search Syntax.
International coverage and access to law reviews, scholarly articles, jurisdictional surveys, legislation, and more. Search on a citation to a court opinion in the "Court Cases" field. Search on a citation to the U.S. Code using the form "8 U.S.C. 1158" in the "Statute" field. The "check availability" link connects to full-text in most cases.
Also
JSTOR. An online archive of scholarly journals, including a number of respected law reviews. This can be an especially useful database to search when looking for law reviews discussing court opinions decided prior to ca. 1982.
Law Review Commons. "The largest collection of free and open law review scholarship." These "publications are made freely available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories."
