Note: You are responsible for learning about and abiding by copyright laws.
The following sites contain graphics that may be used without obtaining further permissions from the author.
Contains 35 million photos. "Embed images for your non-commercial website or blog in three easy steps."
Library of Congress American Memory
"American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections." Some materials may be copyrighted and used only under fair use guidelines. The Library of Congress provides some assistance in determining the copyright status of items, and a Copyright, and Other Restrictions page.
National Archives and Records Administration Archival Information Locator (NAIL)
Contains many online photographic exhibits, including Picturing The Century containing photographs from every decade in the last 100 years. Usage guidelines are available here.
Smithsonian Open Access
Millions of images, including "images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo".
"Free (do whatever you want) high-resolution photos."
U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library
Over its long history, the U.S. Geological Survey has taken many, many, photographs. In the course of their various geological studies and explorations, persons in their employ have documented volcanic explosions, mining projects, and dams. This website contains 30,000 photographs from 1868 to the present, and many of these images have never been published in any form. New users can get started by clicking one of the subject areas on the left-hand side of the homepage. These areas include "Earthquakes", "Mines, Mills, Quarries", and "Mount St. Helens". Visitors can also perform basic keyword searches, and they might wish to try out words like "dolomite", "karst", or "Colorado". Also, the site has an excellent "Portrait Gallery", which contains images of famed geological pioneers, such as Chares Van Hise.
Includes medical and social history, contemporary healthcare, and biomedical science. Over 100,000 images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements. Released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence.
The following is a list of websites through which you can find and download materials that may or may not be copyright-restricted or licensed.