Juneteenth and the Emancipation Proclamation: Home

• “American History Through an African American Lens - The Historical Legacy of Juneteenth.”https://nmaahc.tumblr.com/post/121925744985/the-historical-legacy-of-juneteenth.
  An overview from the National Museum of African American History and Culture.


• National Archives. “The Emancipation Proclamation,” October 6, 2015.  (online exhibit) https://www.archives.gov/exhibits/featured-documents/emancipation-proclamation


• National Archives. “The Emancipation Proclamation: An Act of Justice.” Prologue Magazine (August 15, 2016). https://www.archives.gov/publications/prologue/1993/summer/emancipation-proclamation.html
  An essay based on a talk given by John Hope Franklin on the 130^th anniversary of the signing.


• “Texas Remembers: Juneteenth.” https://www.tsl.texas.gov/ref/abouttx/juneteenth.html.
   From the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.  Includes links to other resources in the collections.


• Taylor, Derrick Bryson. “So You Want to Learn About Juneteenth?” The New York Times, June 13, 2020, sec. U.S. https://www.nytimes.com/article/juneteenth-day-celebration.html.


• Taylor, Nicole. “A Juneteenth of Joy and Resistance.” The New York Times, June 13, 2020, sec. Food. https://www.nytimes.com/article/juneteenth-food-black-chefs.html.
   “With the dual pressures of unrest and the pandemic, black chefs are contemplating the ways this holiday can help Americans cope.”

“Text - S.Res.175 - 113th Congress (2013-2014): A Resolution Observing Juneteenth Independence Day, June 19, 1865, the Day on Which Slavery Finally Came to an End in the United States.” Webpage, June 19, 2013. 2013/2014. https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/senate-resolution/175/text.

“Transcript of the Proclamation.” National Archives. https://www.archives.gov/exhibits/featured-documents/emancipation-proclamation/transcript.html

Video

• National Museum of African American History and Culture. “Celebrating Juneteenth,” June 19, 2017. https://nmaahc.si.edu/blog-post/celebrating-juneteenth.
  The Museum’s Founding Director Lonnie Bunch III leads a tour through our Slavery and Freedom exhibition to celebrate Juneteenth.


• “Forever Free.” Directed by Burns, Ken. Public Broadcasting Service, 1990. https://video-alexanderstreet-com.ezproxy.bowdoin.edu/watch/forever-free. (only available to current Bowdoin students faculty and staff)
  Episode 3 of Ken Burn’s Civil War Series covers events leading the Proclamation, and its effects.  

Music

• NEW..In commemoration of Juneteenth 2020, an unreleased recording of Aretha Franklin https://youtu.be/c6C-dZPAmbg
  ​A never-before-heard recording of "Never Gonna Break My Faith" featuring the Boys Choir of Harlem.
• NPR.org. “Five Jazz Songs Of The Freedom Struggle.” Accessed June 15, 2020. https://www.npr.org/sections/ablogsupreme/2012/06/18/155318747/five-jazz-songs-which-speak-of-the-freedom-struggle.